October 16, 2010

  • {oh boy!}

    I’ve kinda been letting the kids rooms go… not really making a huge deal about them being overly clean. Figuring in another week or so everything’s going to get thrown into those smelly brown boxes, so why bother! The girls do okay to stay up on theirs regardless if I remind them {numerous times} every day.

    Now Ben. He’s not so into neat as his sisters. I usually tell him not to stay in his room too long or he might lose his way to the door!

    Today though. Today was one of those, “Sorry, bud. I just can’t be all calm and cool and laid back and whatever! about this anymore… get this thing cleaned up!!!” And tonight, when I went in to kiss him goodnight I told him how great everything looked. But, then… stopped midway through as a stack of something caught my eye. Shoved down in the corner beside his bed, between the nightstand and the wall.

    “What.. what’s all that back there?”

    Ben sat up and hung over the side of his mattress, stretching as far as he could to see around to what I was pointing at….


    “Um. Well…” he said nonchalantly. “There’s 2 deer antlers. 2 football gloves. 1 baseball glove. 2 key chains. a deck of cards. 1 baseball. a lizard. and…oh, yeah… 1 sock!”

    “Is that it?” I asked.

    He stretched a bit further to check, then looked up at me with a serious expression on his face. “Yup. I think it is!”

    I felt a smile playing at the corners of my mouth – As all the good, mature, wise mommy things I knew I was supposed to say about thoroughness and not doing a job halfway kinda escaped me right then.

    “And one sock, huh?”

    He nodded.

    I bent down and kissed his forehead, lingering there a second longer than usual before letting out an extra loud, “muh-wah,” at the end. He cocked his head sideways and smiled up at me with one eye squinted closed as he does….

    It’s in those moments that I know he knows.
    Knows without me having to say it~
     

    That I just can’t imagine life without him! :)     

    foreverfamily


    ¸.·´¸.·¨) ¸.·¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ (¸.·¨¯`♥ amber

Comments (29)

  • This is great! I raised 2 sons and the memories flooded over me as I read this entry. Yes I would let the room go for just so long and then it was clean up time or just keep the doors closed LOL. As adult men both are neat and organized and I realize their boyhood rooms was “the small stuff”. Sweet post.

  • awe…you are totally a good momma!!

  • That’s IT, dear friend…and it is the BEST-of-life.

  • yep.
    sounds just like it.
    messy boys are the only kind i know of.
    and, like you, i can’t imagine not havin’ them!!
    happy weekend dear friend!!

  • That brought back memories of my two sons, both grown and on their own and one now with a son of his own!! Now their rooms sit here neat and boring!!! (<: One of my favorite phrases as they were growing up was “this too shall pass!” — I miss those cute little snuggly boys that used to live here!! In spite of it all they have grown into wonderful men and they still let me hug them now and then and I have a handsome grandson to love on and I don’t have to worry about what his room looks like!!

  • Someday he’s gonna make some girl a lucky gal, that boy of yours.

  • I have a boy like that too!!  Made me smile.

  • SWEET. I *love* your response.  This makes my heart smile… This is parenting at it’s best!

  • so sweet, ambs. :) i have a “push the dirt under the rug cleaner upper,” too. :)

  • i love it! he wasn’t even scared to tell you what was back there. tells me you have been a great mom for this funny boy!

  • LOVE THIS! <3 (especially since i never had a brother. or a son.

    oh, amber! i am SO fed up with xanga! it is not working. i received an email from them in answer to my questions yesterday. they encouraged me to try using foxfire instead of safari. i tried that this morning….and it is not different! oh! what to do? i can post. no problem. it’s the pictures that are making the problem. and….what’s a post without pictures????? at least, that’s my conclusion.

    anyway…i’m happy xanga still works for you….as i always enjoy your posts!!!!!

  • Haha! There are more important things then clean rooms (nevertheless, we’re all doing that right now… ironically)
    Although Mom has allowed herself to be somewhat distracted :D

  • AAW! You are such a good mama. I always enjoy your pictures. Such a pretty lady you are.

  • Our two boys shared a room…one was a neato, the other a slob. It made for some monster disagreements can I just say!!

  • a special moment shared with you just you and Ben. I’m sure that its hard having to try to figure out all the particulars of what’s going on, take care of Reece, the girls and Ben, and try to find some time for you as well…to just have a moment to breathe. thinking of you Amber. How are you doing emotionally/physically/mentally/spiritually about the move?

    love

    janel

  • I always wondered how my boys could find anything in thier rooms.  Saturdays were my days off and it was spent gettign them to clean their rooms.  Your son is a handsoem young man and enjoy your week end.

  • I actually have a daughter like that! Surprising I know. But I tell you what, if I ask her where anything is at, she can immediately tell me. And if I move something or take something out of her room, somehow she knows it! Its amazing. I used to make her clean it, but my husband decided that since it was her space she could be responsible for deciding when to clean it. Now, she usually gets to a point every few weeks where she gets sick of it and cleans it on her own!

    Your description of your son’s honesty and your response had me laughing and saying, “Awww…how great is that!” Thanks for sharing.

  • Awww~ That is just sweet innocence.

  • Well, I guess he gets credit for taking inventory ;) …and why always one sock? Do they eat one and toss one? So true…these little men change our lives and I love them in their boyness one moment and being little men the next.

  • Oh, these sweet boys with three sisters.

  • And one sock…. love it!

  • Aw, I LOVED this post! :)

  • lol..love it. Perfectly describes a boys idea of cleaning his room.

  • Kudos to you for having the wisdom to let it go…at least this once.

    I have a feeling the story may have played out differently if I were the Mom in this story.  Well…maybe depending on my own energy level at the time.  Both of my boys are the “piling type” of cleaners..but I think Kendall is worse. Sometimes I just move the piles to more strategic and hidden places.

    Boys will be boys…that’s for sure.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *