September 28, 2010

  • {wise love is forming us}

    “The Potter has called us to know Him, not His purposes in us.

    Trust Him without fear or reservation, my dear friend. The Potter’s hands will not stretch, pound, pull, scrape, or apply pressure in vain. Nor does He delight in seeing us spin needlessly around the wheel. {spin needlessly – i liked that part} Every turn of the wheel and every pressure of His hand are wisely applied to our lives in His loving re-creation of us. He is working us from the inside out to conform us into vessels of honor. Wise love is forming us.

    Let us not fear the turnings, the pressure, or the silence. Where the pressure is greatest the vessels will no doubt be most unique and the Potter most glorified.

    The simplicity of this is awesome! We must know Him, not His purposes, and we know Him through submission.

    Clay was never in better hands than the hands that now are molding you.”

    Rest!

    Edward Miller, Letters to the Thirsty, 106

     



    “We must remember that the hand molding the clay is nail-pierced, and that our God’s sovereignty will never clash with His paternity.”

    But now, O Lord, Thou art our Father, we are the clay, and Thou our potter. isa.64:8





Comments (21)

  • I love this.  Spinning. Pressure. Pounding. Scraping.  This is my life, and to be reminded that it is “wise love” forming me is amazing and comforting in the midst of what is sometimes painful.

  • Simply beautiful…

  • Great thoughts.  Sure don’t always like the “pressure, pounding, spinning and scraping”.  Want to be used in the Potter’s hands and not fight the process though.

  • “We must know Him, not His purposes” Love all the thoughts in this. I think we were a bit on the same page, but different paragraph this morning. Love the pictures also. I just love the thought of being clay in the Makers hands and those parts of scripture are my favorite and I write and reflect on them a lot in my writings.

  • I liked this part…Where the pressure is greatest the vessels will no doubt be most unique and the Potter most glorified.

  • Where the pressure is greatest the vessels will no doubt be most unique and the Potter most glorified.

    I love, love , love that, Amber!
    and may it be He who is glorified.

  • So good and so true! Love your daisies too. :)

  • true. true. true.
    beautifully put!

  • “The Potter has called us to know HIM, not His purposes.”

    Wow!

    I kinda got stuck there.  So true.

    Beautiful post. Thanks for sharing!

  • I love the potter analagy! Makes me remember the book “Master Potter” by Jill Austin and her following book “Master Potter and the Mountain of Fire”. I LOVED those books. If you haven’t read them I’d say go for it! :)

    {{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

  • This is good for me to hear right now.

  • Love it. Thanks for sharing it!

  • when i was in France working at camp, the camp director was a potter. one evening that i was able to have off i managed to go to the chapel service and may was it life changing. he was giving his testimony but working with clay at the same time and since i’ve a visual person it totally struck me deeply all the things he said. the one that i remember most is that the clay that has been fired and has broken in the heat…when it is returned to powder and added to fresh clay, when fired will make it twice as strong as it could have been just on its own. I’ll have to go back and look up the references in the Bible to the potter…they speak to the artist in me. thank you for sharing this reflection. what book is it out of…very meaningful and heart rending.

    love you and praying for you

  • very good! Thanks for sharing this because right now I can really use it! :)

  • love this too.

    the clay, being clay, can forget that it is dirt. needing an artist.
    especially. even more so. when looking at other pieces of clay.
    we…oooops. i… can overlook that it is a process on the wheel with The Potter.
    and demand more than dirt can give. for myself. and others.
    pottery is all about unique individuality. each piece. a work of art. ONE of a kind.
    the variation in color and design appreciated.
    The Artist glorified.
    it’s not about having matchy-matchy sets to function.

    “We must remember that the hand molding the clay is nail-pierced, and that our God’s sovereignty will never clash with His paternity.”
    precious.

  • I needed this more than you know. I am sooo behind on posts due to not having a working computer but I think God worked that out cause I needed this post today.

  • most meaningful and lovely!

  • just came back to read this again. sure need to be reminded of this right now. thanks for posting!

  • As one-artsy-non-tech-photographer to another…I love the way you see the world and the way you capture it

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *