October 26, 2010

  • {looking for the lovely}

    Today it rained.

    Like one of those chilly fallish kind of rains that causes you to reach for your favorite gray knee socks and coziest sweater – you know the one, with the little lint balls all over it and maybe a hole under the arm..

    I stood at the back door for awhile and watched the rain pour down. Noticing the few remaining leaves on the trees whipping and shaking in the wind.. as if holding on to their branches for dear life not wanting to let go. Tonight, the big huge oak outside my bedroom window is much emptier now. I think in the end the wind won. Now the leaves lay in a wet lifeless heap on the ground underneath. I find a melancholy settle over me as the thought comes to mind that I won’t be here in the spring to see that tree in all it’s glory once again.

    And suddenly I realize.. I’m going to miss that tree.
    Is that dumb. To miss a tree?
    If it is that’s okay. I’ll be the dumb person who’s going to miss a tree.

    But if a tree could talk, man oh, man the stories it could tell of our times here!
    Standing as a wooden guard by our house over the last 12 years…
    creating the perfect shade for picnics and dream of a climbing tree for the kids.

    But.. I didn’t mean to write a post about a tree.
    I guess I was just thinking out loud there a minute…

    What I was going to write about was the gorgeous day we had before the rainy one –
    and how glad I was that Emma and I took a walk on that day and gathered up all the pretty things we could find.


     

    …it struck me when we were walking how that from inside our house looking out things didn’t seem too colorful or inviting… but when we got out and looked for the beauty we found it! sometime things in life appear worse than what they are, simply because we choose to stay in the box we’ve created around ourselves.. instead of being willing to step out and look for the good {the beauty} in the situation. Sure, it’s not always easy to spot. We might have to search a bit, dig a little deeper, and even push a few things aside – like I had to do for some of the pretty berries and flowers that were buried beneath the dead leaves. But, if we’re wanting to see it, wanting to find it, we certainly will!

    That was a good lesson to me in searching for the lovely in the drab times of life… even though it might seem from first glance there’s none to be had!


     

    {i loved the different color berries we found}

    We brought all our little finds home and spread them on the kitchen table.
    Emma decided we should open a flower shop, telling me-

    “you do the debt-or-ating wif our stuff and i will do the money…”

    (: Sounded like a good arrangement to me. 

     
         

    Actually, she turned out to be a good little business woman…
    making eight dollars and something from the guys who work for Shayne!
    One of them asked her how much for one of the leaves and she said,

    “Two dollars.”

    “Well, let me get my wallet from my car…”

    Emma looked up. Eyes wide with surprise and answered,

    “You are weally doeing to div me TWO DOLFERS for dat!!”


    Later while Kate was at ballet Emma wanted to go somewhere and spend her newly found business fortune.
    After walking the toy aisles of Target for the whole hour and half time slot we had before picking Kate back up,
    she finally settled on a generic rubik’s cube. hello kitty lip gloss. and a small plastic laptop.

    In the checkout lane she fumbled with her Barbie wallet, spilling the quarters nickels dimes and 12 million pennies all over the floor.
    When the lady told her the total she handed her the fist full of change she’d just scooped off the floor…

    “No, baby… ” I corrected. “You need your big money.”

    I reached into her clutched Barbie wallet and pulled out the singles.

    “But I want to pay wif these…” She said, bending down to pick up more of the spilled coins.

    “It doesn’t work that way, sweetie..” I explained as I attempted to count out the waded bills, aware of the impatient looking lady in line behind us.

    Now my kids have never been public fit throwers. Key word on public. They each know how to throw a royal dish of a fit in their own right just fine… But suddenly, Emma {very publicly} flung the change in her hand back on the floor and grabbed my leg, burying her head in it and crying loudly.

    “But I don’t want to div dat wady my money…!!!”

    I patted my heartbroken child on the head as I handed over her prized dollar bills and felt very much like the scary looking old men in the bank scene of Mary Poppins singing, “Tuppence,” as they greedily eyed the coin in Michael’s hand. I could feel the stares of the fellow shoppers and wanted to turn around and explain, “Look, people.. she WANTED to buy these things. I’m not some mean mom making my daughter spend her money when she doesn’t want to!!!” 

    I paid for my own things. Gathered our bags. And limped out with my sobbing 5 year old still attached to my leg.

    In the van as we talked things through I asked her if she wanted to return what she had bought -
    She told me, no. She wanted those things. But she wanted her money too!

    Oh, don’t we all. ;)

    I tried making her understand it just didn’t work that way, but wasn’t sure she really got it.

    But this morning when she woke me up with,

    “O-tay. Dis is what I doeing to do. Take my fings to da store and det dem to div me my money back! Den… you tan buy me dose fings wif YOUR money!”

    Hmm. On second thought. Yeah. She got it!
    And I’m thinking there’s a future in there as a business woman after all. ;)


    {picnik has a new textures effect that i had fun trying out and playing around with}


     
    I don’t think our little flower shop venture worked out so well for me though – -
    I started itching something fierce last night and woke up to a nasty rash all over my neck!
    Apparently one of the lovely red leaves I pulled was poison ivy!!!
    I’ve never had it in my life, and man! hope it’s the last.

    My grandma was telling me when she was a girl, going to school in a one room school house that one of the things the girls would do at recess was find a poison ivy leaf and write the name of the boy they liked on their arm. Then, when they broke out in the rash it spelled out the name!! Hmm.. I told her they must have been short on entertainment back then. ;)

    Well, I’ve been jumping up and down throughout trying to write this to take care of one fussy little Reese.
    Not sure if I ate something she’s not liking or what..
    sure hoping she doesn’t get this poison ivy – is it contagious?
    I should google it. But google usually freaks me out more than helps.
    She’s finally settled and I think is sleeping, which means I should be too. :)

    So, one last slathering of Caladryl and I’m off to bed!

    ¸.·´¸.·¨) ¸.·¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ (¸.·¨¯`♥ amber



     

Comments (39)

  • Some cute little business woman you have there! Charming in fact. LOL I love hearing about this. We used to sell our paintings on the driveway…really most of the time to a kind kind man up the street who became our friend.
    The berries and leaves are beautiful. So sorry one was the wrong kind! eek. Make sure anything you were wearing is washed, as that is one way to get more. I am not sure how it spreads,something with the oils. The technu wash helped David a lot, compared to in the past. Seems to help from spreading.

  • Wonderful pictures – brw, We have planted many trees and if one has trouble or dies it saddens me. Our kids tease me and say I am a tree hugger!

  • the little lady is learning how money works at a very young age:) haha!! Sure hope its not poison ivy you got!!

  • that is tooo sweet of your little girl’s business thoughts!!
    omg. she gets it. ubetcha.

  • I think I could afford to throw a really nice Christmas party if I could find someone to pay me two dollars each for a bunch of leaves! LOL! Of course, I am sure a lot of her prosperity was based on Emma’s cuteness! (Something I lack!) I have to preach in a couple of weeks, and the topic I feel God is working on me with is “I am crucified with Christ….” Yeah…. sometimes! We so often want the blessings without having to pay the price — like Emma wanted the toys, but her money as well. What a verse! That “nevertheless” part of it is where I get stuck! I don’t know how I am going to preach this when I struggle to live it! My will does not want to die. My pride does not want to be crucified. Oh yeah… I am supposed to be leaving a comment here, right? Sorry! Uh… nice pictures! I do hope that poison ivy leaves quickly. Yes, it can be a bit contagious if you scratch and then touch someone and get the “juice” on them. It’s raining here, too. The drops hitting the windows are saying, “Ha-ha! No walking about with you camera today for you!”

  • In The Diary of Anne Frank she tells about the chestnuttree in the garden from het Achterhuis. This is so special since we know Anne could go outside for years in Amsterdam hiding for the razzia’s of the Nazi’s, who occupied my country. The tree was kept all these years and only two years ago preserved from not falling down. But a few months back he has !

    No..to feel and be connected with a certain tree is one of the great mystique experiences we can have in our personal life…remember Jezus in the garden of Getsemané, and his olivetrees…And me and my paperwhite beeche, who broke down a year ago, the one my hushband planted for me when we came to live here; he had turned out to be 28 years…I cried and kept a few pieces of the branches that dried so beautifully I made lamps out of them….

    But you will plant at least one other wonderful tree when you get there..in Canada….and you will feel connected again because you will remember you can.

    Lieve groeten

    Godeliva van Ariadone

  • ps. The hard thruth was off course that Anne could NOT go outside for years, I quess the thruth is too hard to understand it fully and therefor I left the word   not..out of the sentence, sorry for my mistake…Luckily I noticed it.

  • Your post could be a sermon in it’s self. Very sweet and well told. Bless her sweet dear heart. Oh my do we ever love our trees here in Southern Iowa!

  • You’ve never had poison ivy?? wow – we have it every summer :( and yes, it is contagious, but IvyDry works pretty good and relieves the itch.
    Do you have a moving date? Must be the season for moving ;) lots of people I know are moving this month. Will be praying for you and your family – for peace, joy and comfort as I know it will be bitter-sweet.

  • ooh! sorry for the poison!!
    what a sweet little child Emma is, and yep. i’m thinkin’ she ‘got’ the whole shoppin’ and spendin’ thing down pat! ;)

    love the looking for the lovely concept. sooo true. being intentional. that’s where it’s at.

    have a lovely day….
    thinkin’ of you often in these days of packing…
    ♥~R

  • Lovely post. Caladryl is not enough for the poison ivy. Check your drugstore for something stronger. Wash the clothes you were wearing in hot water and dry in dryer. It is only contagious (if then)when the blisters are open and seeping. Here’s hoping you only got a mild case.

  • PS Next time wash skin with bleach if you think you’ve been exposed. Wash bleach off right away.

  • Cute story She is such a doll baby!

  • Ouch! Poison Ivy! Been there! If you have a Jewelweed plant near the poison ivy patch, pick it and break the stems open and apply the juice – it works!! http://www.altnature.com/jewelweed.htm

  • Enjoyed your story! Good lesson there. Poison ivy is not contagious to other people. My son got poison ivy once and it was so bad I took him to the doctor and he said that other people could not get it from you. He said he was highly allergic to it and to prove his point he rubbed his arm all over our son’s poison ivy!  If the “juice” from the leaf is on your clothes and someone else touches it they could get it but if they touch your rash they will not get it. I had it 3 times last summer. It’s a bother but it does get better. If it gets real bad and you are miserable you can go to the dr and get some prednisone and it clears it up right away. Blessings on your life and your move!

  • Oh, what an adorable business “woman”.  Your telling of the story made me smile (maybe it’s just reassurance that I am not the only one with these stories at the store….HeeHEE).  I think as moms, we can all relate in empathy when we are the “lady behind in the line.

    Your little collection of nature was beautiful!!  sorry you got poison though.

  • how precious. hope you get to feeling better soon!

  • so,so cute! I’m so glad those guys paid her for leaves! :)

  • every little girl needs someone to “buy” her stuff! it is so fun to watch (and learn) ha

     … beauty in ashes…   good thoughts!

  • Very cute! Isn’t it just so painful when they pull out their little wadded up dollars? :( But some day they have to learn the value of money, right? :)

  • I love your stories, that Emma sounds like something else. I agree..bussiness woman may just be in her future. Hope your poison ivy gets better soon, I have never had it. My dad can just look at the stuff though and break out from head to toe. I feel so sorry for him when he gets it, he just looks miserable.

    Have a great day & don’t google. Google is scary!!!

  • I hope she didn’t sell the fella poison ivy leaves!!!  :o    Anyway, I enjoyed the story and I’m sorry you have poison ivy ~ I avoid that stuff like the plague.

  • AAhhh how sweet, except for the poison ivy part!!! ACK!!!

  • We moved last year. It was a move that we wanted to make, but we were still having to give some things up and there were times I was scared that I might not be happy in our new place. Here 16 months later we are starting a new process to adopt and although again I know its the right thing for us, I am scared of giving up the life we know and are comfortable with right now. But then I remembered having these same feelings before we moved and I realized that it will be the same thing with this new journey. Your NEW life slowly just becomes your life and you have joy and struggles, times of pure fun and excitement and times of worry and stress just like you did in your “old life”. We have an amazing ability to adjust and to live, not just survive, but to find the beauty around us. I have no doubt you will do this very thing!

  • I like your title….looking for the lovely.  How true it is. And no, it’s not dumb to miss a tree, it’s part of the little things that make life special! =)
    Emma is so cute. She has the same business sense as Allison. She has suggested before we use our money and she keeps hers too. ;)

    I like the berries you found. I am always gathering things from outside to decorate with, and I have never found pretty berries! I am quite jealous. ;)
    Hope your poison ivy goes away soon, how miserable. I have never had it. I don’t know if it’s contagious, but I know it can spread. Not sure if that means it’s contagious???

    Happy Day to you Amber. =)

  • Thanks for your comments about the Word…Mae sure has it right, it can cut and hurt but to be in fellowship with Him; He loves us and wants us to be with Him now and forever!

  • Emma is a crack up!! She really thought about how to get her money back AND keep her stuff. LOL. ;) That was tooo cute. My kids used to tell me- “I know you don’t have money, mom- but you have checks!!”  Amazing how their daddy actually thinks that works! (*LOL*- okay, Im done being snarky)

    The pictures and post was wonderful. I totally understand missing a tree. Honest. ;)

    Shine- and don’t Scratch!!

    Cass

  • Ahh what a cute little business woman you have. What a good mom not to crumble and pay for her treasures. :) A hard but good lesson to learn at a young age.

    Sorry to hear about you having poison ivy. I have never had it but hear it can be so uncormfortable. I hope it doesn’t cause you too much trouble.

    {{{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}

  • My SIL and I both agreed the other night that you could totally write a book. Your first paragraph is great! …. Love all the pretty colors! Wish we got those colors here in SoCal …. Your daugther is a genius business woman. Who wouldn’ pay a cutie like her $2 for a leaf? Maybe she thought her cuteness would work at the store too and she could get all that cool stuff with her coins. I certainly don’t blame her for wanting to buy things but not giving them my “big” money. I got a chuckle out of the mental image of you walking out of the store while she clung to your leg… Poison ivy is the pits!

  • I used to make paper snowflakes and sell them around my neighborhood. Yep. People bought them.

    I also sold homemade cookies. I’ll never forget selling some to a young neighbor guy. As I walked back down his sidewalk, I must have tripped or something, and dropped the cookies all over the sidewalk. Yep, again. I kept selling them.

  • I liked the tree thing. I totally get that. For me it often isn’t even about the tree…
    it is more about the connections it repesents ~the memories and emotions evoked.
    Not dumb at at all! :)
    And you can count on me to recognize dumb! teehee.

    I can relate to Emma. kinda parallels my desire to really know God.
    I want all of His good stuff…and what? what’s this? It costs ME? MY dollars?! 
    {I don’t mean salvation. No.no. That is His gift! Course.}
    No…I mean…I wanted freedom to be free! you know, shining for Jesus while sittin on my easy chair!
    I don’t want to “pay” to learn. and grow. or at least not too much.
    keep it to loose change, not big $$$. not long hard lessons.

    but I am findING…my desire is as deep as my conscious need,
    and the conscious part for me has only been birthed through deep pain.
    costly indeed.
    sososo glad for expensive “good deals”. there’s a rebate, door prize or coupon or something!
    {i just know it’s not the early-bird-special! not for me!}
    called GRACE.

    Grace. minute by minute…to be intentional for just one more. and then another.
    thinking of you all.the.time.

    <3

  • I left a weeping willow tree two houses ago.  I saw it again this summer…big enough to put that bench underneath and sit and read the afternoon away.  Yeah, you can miss a tree.

  • loving that little em girl again… she’s super smart.  :)

    I’m really allergic to poison too and man, my heart goes out to you.  I don’t even have to touch it.  The restorer hunts… and gets the sap on his clothes etc. and yep, i get it from him.  I’ve found something that works like a charm though.  It’s called Topicort desoximatasone cream.  It is a prescription but i just call my dr. and tell him what i have and he’ll order it right it.  It’s a little costly but it does the trick with just a couple treatments.  Hope you’ll have some relief soon.

  • Your thoughts in this post remind me of a program I happened to catch on Mid-day Connection yesterday, with Gordon MacDonald. Good stuff about the potholes in life and what use we can make of them. (middayconnection.org)
    May God give you much grace in the days ahead, and enlarge your heart to hold all the preciousness He has in store for you! His past blessings to us, and the vehicles He used to get them to us, endear many things to us. I know I had a hard time saying goodbye to our 14′x70′ mobile home. Call it dumb or not, those walls sheltered us through much. Be assured that He will continually surround you with His arms, like the limbs of your mighty oak…

  • Oh, Emma. You are just way. too. cute. I love that little business plan. ;) Oh, and you’re not funny for missing a tree. I miss a tree from the house we lived in just before this one. Not because I did anything under or in it, but because I stared at it through my kitchen window. It was an enormous tulip poplar that apparently got hit by lightening when it was really little and forked the trunk. But it was always there .. a whitish bark in the middle of that dark, dark, brown depressing woods. And somehow it gave me courage. Now I wish I had something like it outside the kitchen window. We planted a sugar maple but it will be years before it’s big enough to really be that kind of tree.

  • If you are anything like me, you will think of that tree over the years to come. We lived in a townhouse in the city for about 8yrs. when the kids were young and it had a lovely maple tree in our itty bitty yard, it provided shade, the kids climbed it, we put up a tire swing, the kids made good use of that tree and it did seem to stand sentry and make me feel safe. I also remember that in the afternoons when the older kids had returned to school and it was just me and my youngest, him and I would lie down on my bed and we could see the top of the tree from the window…I would make up stories about the tree over the different seasons (usually with a Jack and the Beanstalk theme) as he would drift off for a little nap…I remember that so fondly…and these thoughts have crossed my mind many times over the years…so I don’t think it’s strange at all to think of how you are going to miss the tree…the good news is, the fond memories will stay with you.

    Oh Emma is such a sweetie and such a clever girl…those lessons are hard to learn. I think I’m still learning them!

    I don’t know if this is a good idea when you’re nursing but when we’ve gotten poison ivy over the years we were once told by a pharmacist to take an over the counter antihistamine while treating it with calamine lotion.

  • Entertaining, enlightening, touching… Thanks for taking the time to share bits of your life and insight with all of us. And no, I don’t think it’s dumb to miss a tree. I am VERY thankful for the trees outside our windows that bring the little song birds, provide shade, and wore lovely little droplets recently the days we had rain. I know we will outgrow our home someday and will have to leave those trees. I think God will honor my love for His creation and provide trees outside the windows of our next home. I’m sure He has some special Canadian trees picked out for you and your family outside your next home. =)

  • What a cute story! Makes me smile on this Thursday morning… Somehow that picture of you walking out of the store with a wailing child on your leg just tickles me! Probably because I can see my three year old in that story. She’s normally quite controlled and I can reason with her well, but there are some days where she just has a meltdown and no amount of reasoning will help.  :)

    Missing a tree… not dumb at all! I’m very sentimental about things like that… And love the looking for beauty… That is something that is so true. There are certainly some times of the year and particular places to live that are easier to find beauty, but there is always beauty to be found. Not exactly what we may have expected, but there is beauty. Love the beautiful things you found! We experience autumn in the south with brown leaves and pleasant (80 degree) weather – no color change, no berries. But I’ve been trying to find beauty here too, even though it’s different from my northern childhood experience!

    Have a lovely day!

  • Oh, poor little Emma.  Wanting to keep her money and get the stuff.  Don’t we all, right?

    I remember having similar conversations with my kids. But good for you for sticking to it because she’ll learn a valuable lesson through it, even though I’m sure your Mother heart probably wanted to just buy the stuff for her!

    About missing the tree…I don’t think that is at all weird. I get that.  Probably mostly its the memories that the tree represents.

    You have such a way with words, Amber. Love reading your posts!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *