May 11, 2010

  • {Monday. Mother’s Day. And Only One Toilet in the House Kind of days.}


    Today was a long day.
     
    The kind that at some point either has you bursting into tears or bursting out laughing.

    I think I did a bit of both.

    It started with one eye opening to the sound of arguing coming up from the kitchen from Kate and Ben…
    and being reminded as I pried the other eye open of why I should never go to bed without washing my mascara off first!

    I went downstairs to discover the argument was over something to do with the pancake batter they were mixing up… [Ben was trying to make up his own recipe, I think] A quick assessment around the room showed me that most had ended up on the floors and walls instead of in the actual pancakes.
    Which led to an impromptu early morning kitchen scrub down. Which led to a trip to the garbage can in the garage.Which led to the site that the dogs had dug up. chewed up. and destroyed the perennials I had just planted in my garden the evening before.Which led to one mad pregnant woman chasing two dogs around the yard in her pajamas with wild hair and black smeared slept in mascara.[Yeah, if I were a dog I would run too!]

    Which led to me wishing Monday could be Sunday all over again.. cause now that, that was a NICE day! :)

     

    = = ~ = =

    We didn’t really have anything special planned. I just wanted a relaxed kind of day, and that’s what it was.
    Except when we went to go out to eat… I couldn’t quite decide where exactly I wanted to go.
    [takes me longer these days to get in touch with my inner taste buds] ;)

    Shayne was so sweet and patient as we headed one way, then the other when I changed my mind.
    Only to find everywhere we did go was packed out!

    I guess we didn’t take into consideration that every single family in the world would be eating out that afternoon.

    shayne asked for a scary face:

    and a goofy one:

    and a normal one.. or something like it:
       

    We ended up at a park to sorta wait for the crowds to pass. Shayne snapped some pictures for me with the kids as we walked around. It was a bit of a chilly day, but the sun was nice. I’m glad I had thrown some sandals in the van to replace the heels I’d worn to church.  

    Finally, we headed to my restaurant of choice, which by now.. had changed again. ;)
    Still.. at three in the afternoon the wait was an hour! So we took our little buzzer thingy and went to McD’s for fries to hold us over, then to Lowe’s to pass the time. Hey, what true mom doesn’t like hangin out at a Home Improvement store on Mothers day!!

    We did eventually get that lovely lunch, now turned dinner. We sat in a cozy corner booth just for five, though I think six would fit comfortably too ;) and ate stuffed mushrooms, crab legs, and drank fun Shirley Temple’s with cherries on top! :)


    Later that night we went out for ice cream in our pj’s~

    couldn’t have become or be a mom without this guy’s help:



    = = ~ = =

    Towards the end of last week. I had this growing “worry” coming up inside me.
    I don’t know what exactly brought it on… 
    Though it probably had something to do with me just recently writing about the peace I had been feeling in life.
    seems whenever I share something publicly God tests me out in the sincerity department soon afterwards. :)  

    But the worry had to do with the house and thinking about baby coming this fall.

    Suddenly having this overwhelming sense of..
    where was this little one going to sleep?
    and how would we fit two in a room that was barely big enough for one?
    and how were we going to get by with just one toilet?
    and only six kitchen cabinets, total?
    and no dishwasher?
     

    … and on and on the mental list of “what we needed” went! 
    Causing the little worries in my mind to turn into a major discontentment tantrum in my heart.


    On Saturday I was waiting on Kate and Ben to be finished with a play practice and found myself in and out of different stores~
    which let me just say that if you’re struggling with being content – - shopping is NOT the cure!
    No wonder my Dad used to say the best way to save money is to just stay home. :)

    I haven’t had that feeling in a long time I can honestly say.. that ugly greedy part of me that walks through going, “I want one of those and one of those… If only I could have that… And wouldn’t life be easier with… And gee, if only I could think of a way to come up with more money to buy all these things I want…”

    and now for a short commentary on the stores I visited~ ;)

    *Target is like walking into an old friends house – I get the urge to hug something when I enter. Good thing they don’t have door greeters like Wal-mart! *Pier One smells absolutely divine – how do they even get it to smell that way? From now on I’m just going to open the door, take a big whiff, then keep on going. and *Ikea – Can I just say whoever designed that place was absolute genius! They’ve made it like such a maze, that you’re certain to buy something just for someone to please show you where the exit is! :)

    Ben was actually with me when I stopped in there and I haven’t shopped there tons, so I guess I don’t know the “system.”
    And trust me – - there is a system.

    At one point I said to Ben, “man. it seems like everyone is going in the opposite direction from us!”
    I just like wandering to wherever seems to catch my eye. 
    A bit later Ben asked, “Why are there big black arrows on the floor, mom?”
    Suddenly I got the system :) and I realized WHY I felt like a fish swimming upstream!

    I came out of there feeling like I’d been to an amusement park…. head spinning from trying to take it all in. following the herds of people. standing in long lines. and eating a bag of popcorn that I really have no idea how it ended up in my hands!! :)

         

    Please don’t misinterpret me~ I love to shop and can keep up with the best of ‘em. Systems or none.
    Only on this particular day, or times when I feel that gnaw of discontent coming over me, it’s not always healthy.

    But shopping was not really my point. :)
    My mind rabbit trails a lot when I’m pregnant. And tired.
    Which I happen to be a lot of both lately.


    But while I was gone for the afternoon Shayne told me two older ladies stopped by the house…
    one of them said she had been raised here and she just wanted to see “the old place.”
    Shayne let her come inside and look around.

    He called me on my cell later and was telling me all this.

    “And guess how many kids were in her family?” he said. “Twelve!”

    The parents room was where the office/classroom is downstairs. There were two girls in Emma’s room, two girls in Ben’s, three in Kate’s, and what is now our bedroom… that’s where the five boys slept!  

    As Shayne described the sweet way this woman reminisced about her family and all the happy memories she had here -how that she and her brothers and sisters would sit on the steps, watching their mother cook, waiting for dinner. playing outside all day by the creek..  Suddenly, as I listened, my dreams of bigger houses and rooms and lots of pretty things seemed to melt away. My soul shifted to a different perspective and my focus began to clear.

    Does it really matter if every child has a room? Or I have to wash dishes by hand the rest of my life?

    Is that really important to having a happy home? Is that what memories consist of? ~“Oh man, you should have seen our house… we had TWO whole toilets!!”

    A child might never remember the number of times they had to wait outside the bathroom for their turn, but they’ll never forget the spirit that filled their home!

         

    Being a good parent has nothing whatsoever to do with how much stuff you can give your kids!
    And certainly nothing wrong with “stuff. I like stuff. :)
    But it’s a lie from hell to believe that having more will make us happier.

    There is nothing in life, absolutely nothing that can bring any kind of lasting fulfillment apart from Jesus Christ.

    I wouldn’t mind bigger. and I certainly wouldn’t mind an extra toilet…. but most of all what I want my kids to “get” growing up in this home. to remember. and to believe. and especially, see lived out before them – is the truth that Jesus ALONE {all by Himself with nothing else added on} satisfies.






     


    ¸.·´¸.·¨) ¸.·¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ (¸.·¨¯`♥ amber.

Comments (47)

  • I hear you on the whole shopping thing. Pottery Barn Kids breeds such discontentment in me quicker then I would like to admit.I’m with you on Target, love the store. Ikea always leaves me feeling the same way and I am not even pregnant. I Always get lost there
    Total truth to the whole stay home thing but then one would get cabin fever bad :)
    Glad you had a nice Mother’s Days.
    I think you are a trooper to live with one bathroom, but then again think less to clean :) and that part I do envy :)
    Hope your Tuesday is smoother!
    Beautiful pictures!

  • I struggle with the same thing at times. We live in a old brick farmhouse that was built in 1900. It is so cute and charming, but sometimes it is overwhelming to keep everything up! The house needs a new roof, when it rains it drips in our room and is ruining the wall, a lot of the bricks need morter, the barn needs some major repair, the root celler where we store things is a mess……. I should post pictures of my house someday. I’ll bet that our houses have a lot of similarities! I’m so glad that you got a reminder that what matters is that our homes are filled with love and the peace or Jesus Christ!

  • I think it is pretty amazing that God directed that little lady to stop by when she did! It really did put things in perspective, huh? I think I will probably one of those people who does dishes by hand for the rest of my life. When I really needed a dishwasher was when my kids were young, but now.. with just the old guy and myself, there is really no need. I have also found that God tends to speak to me often when I am up to my elbows in soapy water! I know what you mean about that feeling of discontent. We have certainly “downsized” a lot since becoming missionaries, and our budget is…. well…. we live on whatever comes in to our ministry, and let’s just say we have never had much extra! LOL! I have worked so hard to turn that “Wanting gene” OFF! Usually now it only bothers me when someone is having a birthday, or a baby, or getting married, or it is Christmas, and I have nothing to buy them a gift with. I love to give, and I miss being able to buy this or that when I know someone would love it. Still— I can show them love in so many other ways, right? Love — God’s love — is the most important ingredient in any home or relationship, and it is FREE! Blessings to you and your dear family, sweet lady!

  • I grew up in a little cape cod style house with one bathroom, sharing a small bedroom with two sisters and I have many fond memories of my growing up years in that house — I still like to drive by it and “remember!” (I remember doing dishes with my sister and the “dryer” couldn’t leave until the last dish was washed and if things weren’t going well between us sometimes it took a long time to get that last dish washed — after the table and the stove were wiped down!!) Your children won’t care that they didn’t have a dishwasher or only one bathroom — they will remember the love and the good times! Their greatest blessing is parents who love them and show them Jesus.

  • I’m s-l-o-w-l-y learnING your dad’s theory on shopping.  and nothing makes me more discontent than seeing a great bargain that I don’ NEED!

    We’re doing the one bathroom, and our oldest daughter will be a teenager this year.  Just recently my husband walked ito our bedroom and started looking at the walls. I asked him what he was looking at. “Just looking to see if there just might be a hidden doorway here somewhere.”  “What are you talking about?”, I asked.  “Well,don’t most houses have a master bath?”  : )

    Our walls seem as though they HaVe to be bulging here on our little house…..you’re not alone.

  • haha! this made me laugh. i grew up in a family of twelve kids and there were TEN of us before my parents added on to the house and put a second bathroom in. i have FOND memories of five of us girls sleeping in a bedroom. we had double bed bunk beds and we had the best of times. can’t say my memories of NEVER being able to get into the bathroom were quite as fond, but it taught us all kinds of good lessons in character!:)

    YOU look amazing!!! when exactly is your due date?

  • Amen, Amen, Amen, Amen!!! So so soooo true!!

    The pictures look awesome.
    You look awesome.
    The lighting in the woods is awesome!!

    :)

  • Oh, I loved this post! I can totally relate on the shopping trip except that I’ve never been to Ikea. We don’t have one close by and I keep hearing everyone talk about it. Sometime I hope I get to go! I’m not in a little house now; but I grew up in one. Oddly enough I never seemed to realize it until I was grown. :) Less then two years after my parents put an addition on the house that meant we three girls were no longer in the same bedroom and created a second bathroom, they sold it and moved us out of state. At first we lived in a trailer w/ an addition and we girls were back to three in a room. Then they built a house. A very small one but at least there were two bedrooms for us girls and an itty bitty bathroom for us three girls to share. It didn’t even have a closet so we had to carry our dirty laundry to the laundry room every day or pile it on the floor; but at least it was ours. We got very adept at standing three in front of the mirror to do hair at the same time. :)

    Gorgeous pictures and oh, my word, you look gorgeous! Young, happy, vibrant. You carry a baby very well!

  • So great….and something I need to be reminded of at this particular moment, actually. Going to come back and re-read when I have more than 30 seconds. I promised myself to spend two hours blitzing the house and get laundry PUT AWAY before I go to town to track down a pair of khaki shorts that are not so stinkin’ short! SO! Got to run but I’ll be back.

  • Oh! By the way, it’s high time you started LOOKING pregnant!! You know……FAT. ;)

  • You look so adorable!  I love all the pictures of you guys, and I really like the last one.  Very cute header, it’s making me want to go on vacation!!!   I know what you mean about IKEA having a system.  It’s the checking out that gets me confused though! And around here, IKEA is so busy, the looooong lines alone help me make a decision to not buy anything and just leave!!!  =)

    For a while, we had all five of our kids in one bedroom.  It was just this past fall that Jeff built a seperate room for the girls.   Even though they were happy to have a new room, the kids still, almost every night ask to sleep together! They said it’s more fun to be together!  Before I was married, I also shared a room with all 4 of my sisters. My parents have only three bedrooms in their house as well. (The house and bedrooms are pretty big though)  My sisters are still in that room.  However, now that they are older and wanting to redecorate, they are having no problem moving all Dana’s stuff out!!! LOL (Her wedding is Sat.) The point is, it’s more fun to share rooms I think!  It keeps everyone close.  Lots of time to talk and share, lots of childhood memories.  You have such a cute house, I love your house! It’s so pretty! And your property is gorgeous!!!

    I was laughing picturing you pregnant, chasing dogs in your pj’s!  I would’ve wanted to kill the dogs!!!  Hope you have a great day today!  Hope to see you soon! {hugs} =)

  • Wow, i’ve done all the above…   and never am i more unhappy then when i’m feeling disconntent.  Staying away from stores is one of the smartest moves on my part.

    We live in a very small house  and yet I too, want our kids to know how fortunate we are to have what we have.  And it’s something we talk about a lot… being grateful for the small things in our life that to a lot of others would look like huge blessings.  I so often think about the families that live in huts and sleep and cook on dirt floors and it helps me remember how “rich” we are.   I’m constantly in need of having my priorities adjusted.

    Love all the pictures of you and the kids.  Beautiful.  How incredibly blessed we are to be MOTHERS.

  • I certainly enjoy your blog.  Your photos are very nice.  Amber’s little bandanna dress is sweet. I was raised in a house with no bathroom……….still very difficult for me to think I’d ever need 2 when one was such a luxury. When we had our 2 boys and a girl we had a huge house at one time. Plenty of privacy for the 5 of us. Then we sold it and bought a 2 bedroom with the promise of building on as we could afford to do. It was years before we had the money to build on so our daughter could have her own room. Living debt free made the years easier to handle. Now here we are with 3 bedrooms, one room is our office, one a seldom used guest room and our bedroom. I find we could very easily get along with a much smaller home. Often people are still paying off their homes or additions long after the children are no longer living there. As far as a dishwasher the only one I had got married and left home. My daughter-in-law who has 4 sons taught them to pitch in and help with the dishes, it gave them time with her and taught them to help out.

    I am glad you are feeling your wee one kicking, what an awesome experience being pregnant is!

    Your blog is refreshing to me.

  • If I had a bigger house, then I would just have more to clean – and who wants that?  Our house is quite small, but it is amazing what a bit of remdeling can do.  We turned our overly big laundry room into a second bathroom.  The girls will be sharing a room but at this point they are excited about it.  There is an old country song called “Little houses” by Doug Stone – the lyrics go like this

    But you know, love grows best in little houses,
    With fewer walls to separate,
    Where you eat and sleep so close together.
    You can’t help but communicate,
    Oh, and if we had more room between us, think of all we’d miss.
    Love grows best, in houses just like this. 

    We lived in a very small house growing up and all shared a room.  I really used to like this song.

    I know exactly how you feel about chasing around the dogs like a mad woman.  Our new puppy has killed so many of my flowers.  I am constanly chasing her out of my flower beds. 

  • Love all the mother’s day pictures!! So sweet to see all of you. You are beautiful!

    I love it that God sent that woman to your house. Wow, isn’t that amazing! And to hear about what a big family they had and all the happy memories. I miss our cottage in Laguna…and never would have moved if I could help it. One bathroom…with 5 of us, so I know. We had an opaque shower curtain so anyone could come in while someone was in the shower When David was born our friend came and enclosed the front porch so he had a little porch bedroom. I always think of little house on the prairie or the homes in Europe with closet beds..than any room seems like a lot. Right now we are trying to come to terms with too much stuff!! My bed is barricaded with boxes as we try to sort out things from Nana and Grandpa’s house.

    David and I would love to see some pics of those troublesome pups

    Your children are getting the best of the best: Jesus, Shayne, and you!

  • Oh, this is the song of my heart, too. I want so much for my children to grow up without a materialistic mindset, but I have to work on my own, too. What a lovely post and beautiful photos. You are blessed.

  • My mom and I we’re looking through the 2010 issue of Beeyoutful, and saw a bunch of pictures that you took, we were pretty amazed, just thought I’de tell you, highlight of my day so far

  • I was just writing to tell you that!! It’s the Spring 2010 Issue of Beeyoutiful. I’ve used their products for years and love them. It was just so funny to keep seeing pictures and thinking, “That looks sooooo familiar! Why do I think I’ve seen that before?” Then I realized it was your photography work that I’d seen on your blog. Congratulations on being published!

  • This is so so good and EXACTLY what the Lord is teaching me.  We moved from a somewhat large house last year to a medium sized house that we are renting since we knew this wouldn’t be a permanent move.  I had the same feelings while I was pregnant- “where on earth is this baby going to live when she gets here???  We are already on top of each other!  I have no place to go to be by MYSELF!” etc etc.  But, Lily Kate sleeps just great in her pack’n play in our bedroom!  And I do get my alone time, even if it is not until 10:30 at night and only for about 30 minutes. 

    The Lord knows exactly what I need, what you need, what our children need, and what is the VERY BEST for US. 

    You look beautiful- and I’m still wondering when you will look pregnant!

  • Hey you pregnant lady!!! That has a nice sound. I loved this post and have missed stopping in here and commenting. Maybe its the surge of hormones in my body lately but I heard a song recently that reminded me of your “house thoughts”. I was all a heap of tears and resolve to never move again when I heard it. Something about the kids growing up in a place and also realizing that kids don’t notice what we do – they just love the family that lives inside. Anyway, the song is called “The house that built me”. Someone with a beautiful voice sang it but I couldn’t tell you who. Ha. You can you tube it. I did that while we were in labor to give Eric something to listen to.
    he didn’t cry. I did. again.
    Can’t wait for your sweet one to come. These days are euphoric. Can time stand still please? Love you.

  • Ahh, I need to be reminded of that. It’s so easy to fall into the trap of thinking just one more thing would make life so much easier, when all we really need is God.

  • Wonderfu post! Where did you find your little girls dress? It’s so cute!

  • So glad that you had such a nice Sunday before The Monday!!!

    Love the photos! ( Please know that even though I say that, like everytime, it always completely sincere! ) :)
    You all look GREAT and you sure do carry your babies different than The Farmer’s wife. Sheesh. I still like you. ;)

    We live in an old circa 1804 farmhouse. It continues to shrink as the kids get bigger. Nothing trips me up more about this house though than The Bathroom. Sigh. While we do have a little powder room downstairs,  I really don’t like sharing the small one and only full bath with teenagers. Sometimes we are all six are in that little room at the same time trying to get ready.

    I know that for me, trying to remember and rejoice that I don’t need to carry water from the village well to my little grass hut, does not really settle the trouble in my heart. That is still “comparison” either way it is ~ looking at grass hut mom or lucky master bath mom, both drag me down. What you said, Jesus alone, nothing else added on, satisfies.

    I do know, when I choose to look at Him first, asking for help with my u.g.l.y., He sometimes directs my eyes to others…with less. Like little old ladies with about a dozen siblings and Great Big Happy Memories.
    Funny, isn’t it?

    love.

  • First off… I really enjoy reading your post!!! I am laughing a little at your sentiments of wanting a larger home and an extra bathroom…. if you could see my life right now…. well, you would think I should be or my husband checked for insanity! I certainly wouldn’t choose to be exactly where I am right now… except that I have chosen to follow the path that God wants for us, but man it is stretching!! I am due to have #8 in two weeks and I am in the midst of packing and selling off things that I love, and needing to paint every room and finish all the floors in our home so we can get it on the market ASAP! I have a home in upstate NY that is gutted in front of us to move too??? But it is all part of a dream of my husbands and I have 7 girls who pray every night to be moved! Our new home will be even smaller than the one we have now??? But we will have 180 acres to run and roam outside and whatever else God has for us…:) I am choosing to be happy to have much less!!! Our girls right now have been sleeping on the floor for the past six months and all in the same room and they are loving it. My husband and I are amazed at God’s grace in there lives…. how content they are…
    Youre right about whats most important… the spirit of our homes, our hearts to our spouses and our children! I pray Jesus is what our girls will see. I have thought alot about how Mary must have felt riding on a donkey right before giving birth… I doubt its what she would have chosen…:) Letting go of my ideas of a sweet little nursery for this little one and a home that is completely organized hasn’t been easy to let go of… but I pray God will give me grace for what He has for our family and for the timing of this little ones arrivel… if you care to, I would greatly appreciate your prayers… Blessings to you and your family

  • @WasabiBek - 

    i’m due in Sept. i keep forgetting the exact date b/cause they’ve changed it on me a few times~ i think it’s the 18th. i usually just say mid-septmeber. :)

  • @down_onthefarm - 

    “I know that for me, trying to remember and rejoice that I don’t need to carry water from the village well to my little grass hut, does not really settle the trouble in my heart. That is still “comparison” either way it is ~ looking at grass hut mom or lucky master bath mom, both drag me down…”

    you so make me smile. love how you communicate truth as only you can!!

  • Love all the pictures from Mothers day!

    Contentment is a constant lesson in all our lives. I appreciate your sharing of what God’s doing in your heart. Be blessed dear sister.

  • @designerlines - 

    a friend of mine made it~ isn’t it adorable! it’s two bandanna’s sewn together!! clever. :) here’s her etsy site- http://www.etsy.com/shop/EvienLizzie. she’s got a ton more of stuff coming out soon too…

  • Hello Amber, how amazing that these women came to visit unexpectatly with such memories. I believe your interpretation is exactly right, for it can be so lonely for a child in “a room of one’s own”, rooms have doors, needing to be closed..thinking seperation…..and now you are thinking and feeling nearness, togetherness, sharing, belonging…You look good…I agree with your other commenter: it’s time you go look pregnant…you know…FAT, but don’t worry we wink our eye at that. All in due time…Be well.

    Lieve groeten

    Godeliva van Ariadone

  • You are wise beyond your years!

  • I loved this post! As we’re growing, I also think, how long can we fit here? We’ve got 3 bedrooms, total, and two of them are very small. We’ve already doubled up kids in those rooms, and #5 will be with us in our rooms. We do have a dishwasher, but it’s broken and doesn’t drain any dirty water, so if we use it we have to sit there with a bucket and scoop it out and dump it down the sink. Then I remember there were four of us growing up in one bedroom, with no dishwasher at all, and I’m cool. lol

  • I totally get that first paragraph about one thing leading to another.  And it was kind of all bad news that time…but it happens to me when I go to the Kendall’s room to get laundry, and then see that I need to pick up this or that, and then take this to the kitchen, and after a while I forget what I came to the room for in the first place.

    I thought it was SO cool that that lady that used to live in your house stopped by at the time that she did.  And you are SO right on about the issue of contentment. Something I am contineuing to try to learn. 

    Beautiful pictures of you and the kids!

  • I’m afraid the dogs would have to go, if I was in charge! Nothing makes me madder ;) than my freshly potted plants being uprooted!

    You know we had 9 kids in a 24ft camper for a summer and we had so much fun, the 2 boys slept in a tent, but the rest of us were real cozy in the camper. Then we had 11 kids in a 4 bedroom home…we were a pretty happy bunch and I don’t ever remembering wishing for my own room. My sister and I shared a bed our whole life, and even had a little sister who insisted on sleeping with us, we had to sing and tell stories every night, but those are great memories.

    I know it’s the best way to save money….but sometimes I just can’t stay home, I have to go look and see what bargains I can find ;) . It is the best feeling though to just be content with where you are at, just happy to be in the moment not wishing for something that looks greener on the other side of the fence.

    I can’t believe you’re pregnant, wow, I’d never hide it that well! You look so good…!

  • Ice cream in your p.j.’s? Now that’s the “stuff” memories are made of!

    You’ll make a sweet spot for the baby…I know you will and I can’t wait to see it!

  • Such a great post! Loved the part about IKEA,did the exact same thing! ;)   Blessings on the upcoming bundle.

  • Amber! I can help with the dogs in the garden! Sprinkle cayenne pepper in the dirt around the flowers and even on them – the dogs will stay away. You may have to keep applying after rain or sprinklers. My rottie does not dig or chew anything at all because we trained her with cayenne pepper as a pup.

    And you are SO funny about shopping. I stay away from the mall and TJ Maxx because I want everything. We moved 6 mos ago from a very large home with 4 bedrooms and 3 baths, a big backyard with a pool to a very small 3 bedroom with a tiny yard, no pool and 1000 sq ft smaller! I can honestly say I am much more content being in a smaller home with less income. God is teaching me so many things about myself, I don’t know where to begin. So…when ARE you due? :)

  • Thanks Amber! 

    I needed that reminder on contentment.  It is so easy to dream of a bigger house.  Mike and I are in a two bedroom house so we are continually thinking how nice it would be to have at least one more room.  But each time we start to pursue finding a bigger house we realize that God has us where He wants us right now and if that is the case, we have to stop “shopping.”  It is nice to be reminded just how many people used to live in houses that we think are too small.  For me it is a reminder that I have too many possessions and I care too much about them.  If God blesses Mike and I with children, I want the children to be more important than if I have room for a home office.

    Thanks again for the reminder!

  • Godliness with contentment is truly great gain….eternal gain. A lesson I still need to keep learning…..

    Love all the pictures, especially the last one. cute, cute, cute!

    happy Wednesday!
    ♥ Rachel

  • I totally agree about the size of the house, amount of toilets, etc. being irrelevant to true satisfaction (and even happiness). And as far as houses go, I personally prefer an old home with all its character and eccentricities (and bathroom limitations) over most newly-built ones. Our house is TINY and so are its bedrooms and kitchen, so I know what you mean about that! My kitchen only has 5 cabinets, and that is including the practically-useless ones over the refrigerator and stove. The counter space is even more limited (more than in any kitchen I have ever seen), and the floor space is smaller than in my little galley kitchen in the condo where we used to live. I wouldn’t mind having more space, especially because I do a LOT of cooking, but I am also learning to find creative solutions to space issues. And small is less to clean!

    My siblings and I always shared rooms (the rooms were pretty small too) and I have the best childhood memories from that! Your kids will love sharing rooms with each other!

    We did get a dishwasher last year, even though our kitchen actually doesn’t have the space for one. Terry and I had to forego birthday and Christmas gifts, and other things last year, but it was well worth a dishwasher! Ours had to be purchased new, as it was custom size for our tiny kitchen, but I have heard of people getting awesome deals on used appliances through craigslist, etc. I hope you can eventually get your dishwasher! (I think I could be a dishwasher salesperson – LOL! I have lived without one, so I can appreciate it for sure – it’s like having a maid!)

  • That lady’s memories really puts the house thing in perspective, doesn’t it?  My faither-in-law grew up in a family of 15 children, and even though a couple wer married before the youngest were born, there were still a LOT of kids in that house.  How they did it I can’t imagine, but there were only four bedrooms, and everyone tells me that the smallest one was always kept as a guest bedroom!  Can you imagine?

    You are so right…the size and elegance of the house doesn’t matter…the love does!  Have you ever read Cheaper by the Dozen?  (Nothing like the movie–the book is a great true story!~)

  • Glad you had a nice Mother’s Day.
    The pictures of you and the kids turned out so sweet.
    I love Emma’s dress **wink**

  • A lovely post, Amber. You have a beautiful family and an attitude to match.

  • LOve your outfit! You look beautiful! I nodded my head through your whole blog. I can so totally relate! It seems that I go through seasons of contentment and discontentment. I have to refocus myself. And remind myself that my children never complain about needing more space or stuff. It’s just me. They are having a blast sharing rooms and going without. Makes them more creative. Which I love to see. I am so excited that you are feeling little one kick!! Hooray!! Have a great week~cheryl

  • Beautiful pictures, beautiful family and precious honest words!

  • The “scary” photo is definitely my favorite!
    Glad you got a day to just enjoy being with your family!

  • Amber, I got a kick out of your “contentment” struggle! Our house here in Corpus really only has four rooms and 2 bathrooms TOTAL! Our kitchen, diningroom and livingroom are one room, we have 3 kids in one queen sized bed crammed into one tiny bedroom and two kids on 2 twin beds jammed into the other. Todd’s office is in our master bedroom closet and school is out of a tiny bookshelf by the kitchen table. =)It’s tight but we are a family and after nearly 9 months living in separate states it was perfect in my eyes!! But I’ve been where you are… And still have times I forget how good just being together sounded. It’s funny, though, what those pregnancy/nesting hormones do to your thinking! Suddenly everything is out of date and inadequate! I remember those feelings….

    Sending hugs and love your way!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories