June 8, 2010

  • {happy anniversary to me}

    I was cleaning out my dresser drawers late last night …
    trying to finally complete the whole summer/ winter clothes switching over thing-
    :/ which I strongly dislike doing.

    Someday in heaven I do hope we have walk in closets for all our seasonal robes. ;)

    Anyway .. I’ve pretty much kept every card/ love letter Shayne’s ever written me.
    And I’m not very organized like that and find them kinda just stuck all over … in random places.
    Which I’m working on, {organizing the random}, and have discovered those cute little
    paper storage boxes from Ikea you can get for like 2/@4.99 are wonderful things!

    So in the wee hours of the night I was sitting on the bed with a small pile of cards and papers…
    Smiling. Having fun reading through them. Chuckling out loud at some. Wondering where the years have gone {seriously}.
     

    As I opened one card… suddenly…
                                                                out fell a hundred dollar bill!

    It read, “Happy Anniversary Babe. Thanks for 12 amazing years…..”


    And we’ve been married now 14!~ {in the fall}.. so that’s been in my drawer nearly 2 years~ {I had totally and completely forgotten}
     


    I called Shayne this morning to thank him for the gift. :)


    Now a day planned at home is suddenly filled with new possibilities….





    Celebrate the Unexpected !!!


    ¸.·´¸.·¨) ¸.·¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ (¸.·¨¯`♥ amber.

     

Comments (45)

  • FUN!!!
    I once found an envelope torn in half in a purse from my closet. I peeked in to see a TORN $100 dollar bill.
    I almost fainted.
    Never found the other half. Still makes me sick.
    Glad your story has a happy ending! LOL

  • Great story! Enjoy! :)

  • I love moments like that…it’s like God leans down and kisses you right on the top of the head with a loud “mwah” and a big smile!

  • What fun!!  Bill and I found wedding gift cards for several years after our wedding day! 

    My family hates it when I say I am deep cleaning or organizing – I move into my own little world reminiscing over every little found item!  It can take days…..

  • Hahaha, that’s so cute and awesome! That would totally be me. In fact, it is. I rarely have cash in my wallet, but if you want a $5 you should check any of my pockets at random.

  • @ToLiveLoved - 

    you can turn damaged currency in at the bank and they will give you full value. now i only hope you know where the half is. =)

  • What fun!  I love surprises like that ~

  • That is too funny!  Two years ago and he didn’t wonder why you didn’t thank him for $100 then or even ask about the card?  LOL

    Paul and I always find money in our winter clothes after the summer and also vice verca.  Makes a nice little gifty.  Especially at that time of need.  : )   Really looking at it though,  it just shows us how careless we are with our money!!  

    We lost a card from Paul’s dad to him for his birthday.  It has $50 in it.  Maybe we will find that some day (if it wasn’t thrown away mistakenly….)  We can only hope that it’s stuck under the couch or something since that’s the last place we seen it.  HAHA

  • Not that’s the kinda surprise I’m talkin’ about!!!!!

  • Wow, what a find!!! Cute story!

    Yea I strongly dislike the switching of season clothes too, I am thinkin if we lived in Hawaii there would be none of that! :) ))

  • I can see your site is as lovely as ever. I hope you’ve been well. Tell me again when this much welcomed baby is due to arrive…Blessings.

  • ohhh very nice. i love that you’ve been able to keep all those beautiful notes that your hubby has written you. what a blessing..and finding 100 dollers…nice. so many possibilities with that ;)

  • @JeezolPeats - 

    oh no… i’m sure i thanked him then too. ;)

  • that’s awesome! we had something similar happen recently around here – the kids found a 100 where I had forgotten long ago I’d hide it for a special time… what a fun gift to find, eh? have fun possibilities !

  • O lovely! What a special surprise….and it’s like you had the joy of receiving the gift twice! =)   Have fun figuring out the best way to spend it!

  • How FUN is that?!?!?!?  I love looking through my old letters from Jeff, it’s so sweet to go back and read.  Funny too, you said you were chuckling out loud, I do that too.  We were so corny and cheesy, but in love! =)  Have a fun day with your find!  You should spend it on gas money to Chicago!!!

  • got soaked did you???!!!  =)

    awesome.
    and to think that we are still on the shore…

  • so great! and what a fun prospect, figuring out what to do with it! ;)

  • Wow! That’s awesome! lol

  • Don’t you just LOVE unexpected money that isn’t already allocated for something?!  I’m sure you’ll find some way to put it to good use- have fun!

  • Ha! FANTASTIC!!! (the letters AND the surprise $$$!) While doing some decluttering of my own a few days ago, I found a $50 bill!

  • Unbelievable!!!!
    That gift was received TWICE!
    Have a FUN day… With new possibilities!

  • Hmmm… I’m guessing what you did with it. :) We’ll see if I’m right…

  • What a treasure to find a one hundred dollar bill.

  • We once found $400 in our suit case months after a vacation. We were so happy to know the vacation had cost us $400 less than we had been thinking!

  • What a great surprise!

  • Aw…..how fun is that!  When I have a nice chunk of change like that…just for me…I hang onto it for dear life….savoring the thought of having it….wanting to spend it on just the right thing!

    May that $100 be a reminder of the ways He makes all things new – even anniversary gifts!

  • Oh, have fun with that! What a wonderful little surprise!

  • I have lots of old letters and cards from Jeremy too…but it seems I never find the time to go back and read them.

    Sigh.

    Maybe some day.

    What a cool surprise, though, to find a $100 bill.  That would open up some new possibilities for the day. Did you do anything special with it?

  • What a sweet treat~ His timing is always perfect. Enjoy!

  • @mlt10202002 - 

    i never knew that… you can seriously take half a bill in and they’ll give you a whole?? that’s good info to know!!

  • @mamaof2bugs - 

    ha! i’m with ya on the Hawaii thing~ :)

  • @i_was_there_and_back_again - 

    hey sweet lady~ glad to have you around again. :) she’s due Sept.18th

  • @appalolly - 

    well i’m thinking it’ll go towards some much needed BIGGER clothes~ it was very cool timing because i went out w/ a friend last night and wore a pair of jeans that reminded me.. oh yeah, it’s time for some things that actually fit this belly. and since i knew the clothing envelope is already empty for the month ;) {kids needed some stuff} i felt like God provided in a super special way for this need~

  • oooh how fun!

  • Wow, that’s great! Have fun spending it.

  • Such a sweet surprise! :) My letters. notes and cards are not very organised either, maybe I will go on a money search. lol Have a blessed day! ~ Di

  • How cool is that? I am happy along with you!

  • Yay! How fun!! I too am so unorganized with cards – just last night I was cleaning off the big bulletin board in our play room – goodness – years it seems things have been hanging up there! No $100 bill though! Darn!! What a fun find!

  • I was thinking about this a bit and I couldn’t help but be amazed @ God’s timing in all this.  I think two yrs. ago God knew this was going to happen and he knew yesterday was the day you especially needed it for whatever reason… wowzers.  love love love those things about God.   Enjoy!!!

  • @mlt10202002 - 

    Seriously?!! Now I’m really mad! Had I only known this two years ago… :0

  • @ToLiveLoved - 

    hey.. what i’m wondering is if you rip a bill in half and take one to one bank and one to another will they both give you a complete bill for that amount?? hmm.. we might be on to something here, girl.

    and knowing how things go i’ll just put a big fat disclaimer right here for anyone reading w/ raised eyebrows- i’m KIDDING! the thought struck me funny though. :p

  • I just read this; I LOVE it! Glad I didn’t wait two years to read it. { ; You’re so cute!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories