June 16, 2010

  • thanks so much for all the great feedback everyone shot my way~ just some really good good stuff.

    reading through the comments, messages, and emails re enforced several things to me… the burden I feel for those serving in leadership positions. the epidemic burn out has become.  the need we all have to know we’re not alone in our journey. and the overwhelming beauty of grace that is available every day of our lives!

    I love LOVED hearing from some of you pastor’s kids out there – mostly through messages, cause yeah.. I get that maybe you’re a bit shy of “public forums.” ;) I found myself wishing we could sit down for a nice long chat over a cup of coffee – - or realistically, ice cold frappuccino. it’s too darn hot for coffee! :)

    I look forward to processing all the info that came in. any other thoughts you have in the days or months ahead feel free to jump back on the post below and add them in.

    ================

    Things have been crazy here this week… is it really only Wednesday?
    I feel like 2 or 3 weeks have passed already since Sunday.

    Yet, among all the craziness the good times far outweigh any of the tough times.

    a few of my favorites so far this week~

    Kate showing up in my room late one night because of a thunder storm. {which had the tornado sirens going off}
    Followed a few minutes later by Ben, and then smiling as the third little person came tiptoeing in.
    It so reminded me of the scene from The Sound of  Music…
    So I decided we should burst into singing!
    I thought about cutting up the curtains into some cute outfits.. ;)
    but ended up in the kitchen eating Fruit Loops instead.
    Which was a better choice since I don’t exactly sew, but I am pretty talented in food eating skills! :)

    And when shopping at Victoria’s Secret last night {hey, their semi annual sale is on!} I heard some women laughing……
    I turned around to find Emma standing there with 3 bras on over top of her shirt!
    and holding several pair of undies up saying in her typical {oblivious to her} loud voice –
    “we hab stripes and some polky dots…” and then stretching out a pair as far as they’d go… “or these wheeeely big ones.”
    It didn’t help that the woman standing closest to her was a bit larger in size. :/

    That’s one of those times as a mom you just smile politely at the onlookers and turn back around-
    pretending you don’t know who in the world that child belongs to! :)



    That’s been one of the neat things, and then not always so neat things about our new phase of life with Shayne’s schedule-
    having the kids with me constantly.
    Like seriously constantly…
    In a way like I’ve never really had them before.
    I can’t explain – only, I’m sure you single moms get it. :)  


    … and it’s been a learning thing for us all. lots of tears and i’m sorry’s.
    and trips to the ice cream store – cause ice cream helps everything, right!

    We had a fun party the other day and I’ll post about that next~

    right now this hot, sweaty, very pregnant momma.. who went to the doctor yesterday and found out she’d gained a whopping10 pounds since her last appointment… needs to go figure out what to make for dinner that doesn’t involve the Wendy’s drive thru!!!!  {hence the 10pounds and need for new underwear!} :)  


        


    “Everyday is a gift – that’s why it is called, The Present”


    ¸.·´¸.·¨) ¸.·¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ (¸.·¨¯`♥ amber.




Comments (32)

  • You, my dear, never fail to put a smile on my face. Those three and soon to be four are blessed to have you as their mommy…singing during thunder storms and all.
    Emma stories are so funny, I think another possible book.
    Lord bless you and give you lots of grace and ice cream, Jenny

  • Yes I 2nd that, lots of grace and ice cream. You make me laugh with your Emma stories!

  • The fruit loop party sounds like my kind of thunder storm =)  Oh, you can handle gaining 10 lbs….!! If I was a thin as you at the stage you are at, I wouldn’t even care!!  Hope the rest of your week is good and goes faster then this first part.

    P.S. I’ll have to check out your last post and see what all you were talking about.  My ears perk up since I’m a PK… (We were gone on vacation - didn’t have internet, and got WAY behind on posts, and still feel like I haven’t caught up…and not sure I will.)   =(

  • Happy to hear you at least have the icecream =), and go ahead and gain those extra pounds. I haven’t even been able to tell you’ve got a belly on you yet =). I know, we all feel our extra weight even when no one else notices or is at least to kind to say they’ve noticed the extra padding. Sounds like you’re making the adjustments graciously, at least your heart is there. I don’t know how I’d manage it on my own. The few hunting trips I’ve lived thru have given me great admiration for all the single moms out there. Love the Victoria Secret story, and love their underwear too =).

  • just another super post, dearie!
    since we just watched the Sound of Music, that scene is fresh in my mind, and oh, you would make the cutest Maria! ;O) you are after all the singing one, right?
    stayin’ tuned for the fun party post!

    have a good one!
    love~
    Rb

  • Emma keeps your life interesting, doesn’t she? :)

  • Hahaha, you are so funny!  I love the Emma in VS story, that’s hilarious.  It must be an adjustment to not have Shayne around.  What a fun memory your kids will have of the thunderstorm!  I was cleaning out my hutch yesterday, and I found the things we were supposed to mail you forever and a day ago. I tossed the Valentines, but went ahead and kept some of the Easter pictures Sophia and Allison colored for Emma! (Think I’m a little behind???) I Liz, publicly vow, that I will be sending it out soon, this time I PROMISE!!! =)

  • Emma is adorable! sorry about the ten pounds…no fun! hope you find some healthy food to make!

  • I HATED those appointments when I’d gained a lot of weight- but take heart- you usually have only a very slight gain the next month!  I remember last year when Scott was here and the kids and I were still in our last home before it sold, we had some really, really fun times.  The kids took turns sleeping in my bed w/ me and we had special tv shows we’d watch late at night.  It was such a difficult time in some ways but I do look back on some of it with fond memories!  One nice thing is that meals were so easy- no worries over what was for supper- my kids are really easy to please!

  • cute story~ yes, saw that sale :) but have no excuse to shop it right now and wish I did :) I missed that last post about ministry and such – great conversation that would be~ been there a few times since R was in the ministry about four years out of our 13 and growing up a pastors daughter, and still. I think being misunderstood is a big one. and living in a glass house always. and all the rumors and lies told and yet no one will ever just come right on out and ask for the truth. the fact that you can’t get close to anyone, for lots of reasons that are sound judgement reasons…

    have a blessed week!

  • enjoyed the Emma story…..she’s so cute! =)  Blessings to you as you “single” parent, I’m sure that can be challenging at times.  I guess I missed where you talked about this, is it just for a little while?  And about the preacher thing, I’m a PK too, and both of my sisters are married to preachers.  Although growing up, I really don’t recall feeling the pressure that I’m sure my parents went through at times being in the “fish bowl”.  But yes, there are definitely challenges that go along with being a preacher’s wife, too.  Blessings~

  • hmmm… guess I should have thought to have a party that late night… should learn to be spontaneous at times… :) and I didn’t want to know about new underwear. ;)

  • One of my very favorite memories of raising our Big family, was one morning after a hugh thunder storm the night before…..waking up and not being able to move….feeling like a sardine in a can….after assessing the situation….breaking into laughter…..waking my husband, who was sleeping beside me, but unable to move hisn body also!  We  had one kid at the top of the bed, (Will),  2 babies between us,  (Tom & Beth ) one a couple months old, the other 2, one on the outside of either of us (Anne and John) and one at the foot of the bed (Debra)….totally boxed in, all sleeping perfectly snuggled up together!  I sooooo loved it!  It has always been a fond memory for Me and Bill! Each one had come in at different times, and we were soooo tired, and sleeping so soundly we didn’t even notice!   Loved having all those babies! Would do it all again……. Love you,  Bev :)

  • ambs….you are way too cute! :)   i can totally relate to the *having kids with you 24/7 even in your bed cuz hubs is gone AND being preggo and tears and ice cream redemption*….that was us for about 9 months last year….how can something be so difficult and yet so good at the same time??  i will never regret having the “freedom” to take my baby with me to bed tho….she was so tiny, and sweet, and cuddly.  now she is bigger, still so sweet and cuddly, and much wigglier and it would never work to have her in a bed without rails. ;)   luv.

  • Hope you are having a great summer!  Blessings to you and your family….Mike

  • I didn’t comment on your last post, because I’m without experience. But, it was very interesting to read all of your feedback. It makes me want to try harder to support our pastor and his family!

  • 10lbs is not terrible! I feel this need to train my kids to sleep in their own beds, and I try to enforce that. But, I secretly LOVE it when they come get in bed with me!

  • Ice cream DOES make everything better =D

  • Ice cream DOES make everything better =D

  • I am in awe of you being a “single Mom” these days. Not totally sure I could do that.

    I loved how you got up with the kids and went and ate Fruit Loops during the night. My brain just doesn’t work that way…I would have never thought to do something like that!

  • Oh Emma ~ you crack me up ~

  • Aren’t little “Emmas” wonderful little memory makers!  I am enjoying the message of your song about His faithfulness and finding it so true.

  • @clearlyhis - 

    …would love your input when/ if you have time. :)

  • @peaceatthelake - 

    she sure does!!! how are YOU? been thinkin of ya – hope to see you guys soon.

  • @Elizabethmarie_1 - 

    and I, Amber, publicly vow I will love you regardless if I ever get my box or not!! ;)

  • Hahah…that’s such a cute Victoria Secret stories.  Kids are awesome!  And, yes, ice cream always makes things better 

  • @mrsbiddlebugs - 

    hee hee… you know me. much to your embarrassment at times right? :p

  • @Hutch5 - Mike and I are doing really well.  I found out I’m pregnant last week. :)   I’ll be due in February.

  • @peaceatthelake - 

    i’m excited for you guys~ that’s so great! <3 and the 13th is a good day in Feb. just sayin ;)

  • @Hutch5 - Well I’m due on the 12th, but we’ll see what happens. :)

  • Hi! Finally getting around to some xanga catch up. I adore that last picture of you, Kate, and Ben. ;)
    Food eating skills…that made me laugh. Ashley would love that.
    Hope your weeks are short and the weekENDS long!

  • @peaceatthelake - 

    oh wow~ right in between Rachel and I. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories