August 31, 2010

  • {My hands are holding you}



    As Shayne left yesterday Emma dropped down and wrapped her arms around both his legs and hung on tight…

    “Come on, baby.” I said as I reached over and tapped her on the head. “Daddy’s gotta go…”

    Though I was kinda feeling inside that I’d like to get down and join her, if I could have. :)

    Instead I stayed up.
    stayed calm.
    smiled.
    Atleast those were the things I was telling myself to do.

    Feeling this floodgate of emotion right outside my heart’s door, but choosing to ignore it’s knock.

    and not saying this as if it’s the cue for everyone to go, “aw. poor Amber….”
    because reality is – which my emotions distort, but reality still the same –
    my life isn’t really as bad as all that.
    my hard isn’t as hard as others.
    I’m very aware of that.
    But.. aware too. It’s still mine. :)

    It seems within minutes of Shayne leaving Emma had fallen off the piano bench and hit her head, crying loudly. Ben was about to join her over frustration with his math. And Kate was uncharacteristically smacking at her keyboard.. which took me a minute to see, wasn’t working.

    I was sitting on the phone for the 3rd time that afternoon with tech support from the kids school. Trying to get the textbooks they forgot to send us. And as I heard the tears and frustration and angry smacking :) from behind me – combined with the overly pleasant recorded female voice saying, “Your call is very important to us. Please hold and one of our representatives will be with you shortly.”

    suddenly… kinda felt that flood of emotions crack the door just a bit -

    I clicked the phone off.
    Turned and tried to give comfort, instruction, correction.
    None of which I seemed to do very well.
    Then, sent the kids outside for “recess.” :)
    As I took one of my own..
    laying my head down on the desk and whispering prayers to the Lord for extra grace…


    I thought of these things I had read just that day::

    “…the prevalent idea that movies and music and TV have the greatest influence on our kids’ lives just doesn’t hold up under research. It may feel better to identify Hollywood, MTV, and today’s culture as the main source of our problem, but the fact remains that we as parents have the greatest influence and opportunity to instill our values and faith within our children. Sure, the culture is a powerful enemy, and it is true that this influence has distorted their perception of Christianity, truth, and reality. But would our young people be where they are today if parents were models of Christlikeness – relationally connecting with their kids, engaging in a concerted effort to reveal who God really is, and leading them to respond as a true follower of Christ?” {The Last Christian Generation, Josh McDowell}

    and,

    “It may be true that she is being too sensitive and too dramatic. But if you tell her that, it won’t help and it could hurt. I was too sensitive and too dramatic just last week. Or was it this morning? Their stuff may be minuscule in the scope of life, but it is their stuff. To respect her life-stage is to love her.”  {on loving those teenage girls, from chatting at the sky – read full post here}

     

    How very much I want to be everything I need and should be to my kids…

    the understanding listener to Kate.
    the enthusiastic motivator to Ben.
    the spontaneous play mate to Emma.

    But. as I sat there yesterday…
    I felt totally inadequate to understand.motivate.have fun.
    Empty of any kind of anything to offer.
    “Their stuff may be minuscule in the scope of life, but it is their stuff.”
    Yes. I know.
    but.there.are.days.

    days I can’t seem to get past my own stuff!

    Thing is. even after my little recess time of laying it out before God -
    the kids were now back in, life rolled on as normal.
    I still wasn’t necessarily feeling super naturally inspired and lifted.
    the computer still wouldn’t work.
    the math problems hadn’t changed.
    and the 4 yr old seemed bent on getting hurt.

    So.. we all just sorta cried and fussed and slapped at the keyboard occasionally and muddled our way through.

    Later, when I went up to my room for something, the radio was playing and this song caught my attention.
    I stood looking out the window as I listened -

    “Why are you striving these days
    Why are you trying to earn grace
    Why are you crying
    Let me lift up your face
    Just don’t turn away

    Why are you looking for love
    Why are you still searching as if I’m not enough
    To where will you go child
    Tell me where will you run
    To where will you run

    And I’ll be by your side
    Wherever you fall
    In the dead of night
    Whenever you call
    And please don’t fight
    These hands that are holding you
    My hands are holding you…”



    It struck me that in spite of those muddled through kind of days..
    when things don’t seem to get any better.
    become instantly easier.
    or miraculously change.

    He’s still holding me.

    Just because He doesn’t always sweep in and save the day the way I might outline in my mind –
    to allow the computer to work. the math genius cells to fall upon me. or little ones to learn better coordination.

    He’s still holding me.

    To be held by Him isn’t about having everything go my way…
    but resting in the truth that the way He is choosing to take me is the very best way for me.

    And not in a self pity whoa is me, “oh, here we go again” kind of attitude.
    but in a quiet assurance that what He allows to happen is because
    He loves me THAT much.

    thinks of me THAT much.
    is THAT concerned.
    THAT caring.


    And that’s why I can make it through life.

    through the day to day stuff.
    the hard stuff.
    the computers breaking,
    emotions flooding,
    and math that makes your eyes cross.

    Not because I pray a prayer and everything is suddenly better.
    Not because my circumstances are what I want or like.
    And not because I’m holding tight to Him…
    especially not that last one -

    To be held by Him is not the same as me holding onto Him.
    because unlike me – He never is fickle.emotional.stressed. or tired.
    He never turns loose.

    if I were trying to make it through from relying on my grip on Him I’d never make it – -
    I turn loose way too quickly and much too often.

    no. I make it through…
    because *HE* never lets go of me!



    “The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms.” {deaut.33.27}

     



    ¸.·´¸.·¨) ¸.·¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ (¸.·¨¯`♥ amber
      

Comments (38)

  • BEAUTIFUL post, just what I needed to hear this morning.

  • He never let’s go of me. I like that. Loved the post, your clear insight and your gift of sharing it. <3

  • Muddling through sounds strangely familiar… During the night is when I feel I have enough time to review the day and ask God, “How is it possible to do what I’m suppose to well?”
    This might be one reason for my insomnia. :)

    “If I were trying to make it through from relying on my grip on Him I’d never make it – -
    I turn loose way too quickly and much too often.

    no. I make it through…
    because *HE* never lets go of me!”

    Amen to this!!

  • Beautiful, beautiful… How precious of God to let you hear that song right in the middle of it all… I noticed the song as soon as I opened to your page, and thought it’s so neat. And now, after reading how it ministered to you, even more so… I needed to read this this morning too.

  • It is so comforting be sitting with the Savior! I don’t ever want Him to let me go…Beautiful post today!

  • Loved this post.

  • i am learning so much about Him holding me. ME! and it is life changing.

  • His grip is strong~ yet ever so gentle.  Love the visual~ and so thankful for your transparent heart.

  • i know you don’t want us to all go ‘aww Amber!’ but i’m doing it anyway.
    not in a poor-you-and-your-lot-in-life-kind-of-way, but in an aww, Amber, you just amaze and inspire me in the way you let God speak to and thru you in the everyday, ugly, h.a.r.d. stuff of life.
    and, i’m sure that just because you processed this and wrote it all out, does not mean that today, tomorrow and the next day it will be smooth sailing, but by letting His work in your life be an example to others, surely you bring honor and glory to the heart of God. and, He will see your heart for Him and uphold you and strengthen your heart….
    oh, i just love you and your heart for the Lord…
    hugs to you dear one!
    ~R

  • Love it. The quote about influencing our children…I’m printing that to put in a promenant place.  I need that reminder.  You’re a blessing!  Much grace to you while Shayne is gone.

  • Oh and I’m SO ready to be holding this little one with my ARMS and not my uterus! lol I bet you’re feeling that way too! We’ve finally had a bit of a cooldown in the weather, we’re looking at 80′s and lower 90′s today and it’s such a relief!

  • I love that song…
    yes… He never leaves and He never lets go..
    thank you for your sweet comment

  • Praying that you have a wonderful week.  Your husband loves you so much, Amber….that’s why it’s hard for you guys to see him go.  again.  (hugs)

    God will never let you go.  Do you just love the promises of God?  They comfort.

  • Beautiful and encouraging….

  • Once again beautifully written. I wish I had your skills to truly portray what’s in my heart. Your posts are always so encouraging.

  • This is SO good. You have a gift of being able to put your thoughts into words that continually bless your readers. The song lyrics you posted blessed me today. I especially loved these words you wrote:

    if I were trying to make it through from relying on my grip on Him I’d never make it – -
    I turn loose way too quickly and much too often.
    no. I make it through…
    because *HE* never lets go of me!

    May God bless you with an extra dose of grace and strength for your circumstances today!

  • Love it! And, as to you FB post…..I’m sure I’ve put more bricks in that library than you have!! ~amber

  • LOve it!!!  Thanks for the encouraging post. =)  Hope you have a good week.

  • Amen and Amen! Beautiful words and truths Amber.

  • Yes, there.are.days.  I’ve had them.  Have them.  And even when I’m feeling totally desperate and destitute and like a completel failure…he’s still there.  I keep whispering it to myself:  This, too, shall pass.  And it does.  Yesterday I had a horrible day, everything bad and wrong and painful.  Today I have been happy–over and over I find myself just bubbling over with joy for no special reason.  And my Jesus is no more with me today than He was yesterday.  He is fully with me every day.  Thanks for the reminder.

  • This is so good! Beautiful truth, Amber.

  • I am so glad I found you! Thanks for another challenge, another encouragement.

  • I don’t know you, and I just stumbled across your blog for the first time tonight…this post made me burst into tears. I needed to hear this, receive this encouragement, and feel this grace after today. I’m a mom of two toddlers, my husband works full time and goes to school at night and I’m in the middle of potty training a spunky high-spirited little one…enough said? After feeling like I can’t handle one more single minute of my life, I know God sent this page to me for this minute. Thank you!

  • SO been there. And you’re exactly right…while “hard” is relative, you are in “hard”. Yes, you’re blessed but that doesn’t mean your exempt from bumps and pot holes. The pregnant hormones alone are enough….let alone your having to play single parent so much these days.
    I love how you said (not in these exact words) that it wasn’t like a holy light descended into your living room and bliss took over but rather you muddled through it. Yep.
    Do all you can to rest when you have 15 minutes here and there. The mess will be there when you get up.
    So will the math. (unfortunately)
    You’re about to have a little one sucking (figuratively and maybe literally) the life out of you! hahahahahahahaha.
    :) you need your rest!
    I’m stopping now ’cause I’m starting to get bossy. oops!

  • I love that song–..
    you made me love it even more.

    It comforting knowing I’m not doing the holding!

    We’re praying for you this week!

  • Thank you so much for posting this. It is exactly what I need to hear at this exact moment in life.

  • there we go again strivin and strivin……urg…….urgh……..urgh

    love this

  • girlfriend! bedrest?? ya. i know. *snort* :)

    you are doing an awesome job. i keep reminding myself that if i were perfect, i wouldn’t need grace…and, neither would my kids. so here’s to GRACE! cheers. :)

    this evening i had my own meltdown. a faceplant in the living room carpet. crying. it was just too much. i forgot to eat much today. so all of a sudden i felt like i was going to keel over. so i just did the faceplant. and cried. and then dozed. while the kids splashed water all over the bathroom and the baby came an did squats over my head. plunking down on my head for every squat.

    like i implied…it’s what grace is here for. :)

    luv ya.

  • You have a beautiful family.

  • I love this post. So hard to remember these truths some days when we really want God to be like the genie in the bottle so we can pray and have our problems evaporate or be miraculously healed or solved. Or at least if the problems don’t go away, we should instantly feel so revived and strong and full of grace to handle them. And it’s not like that. And then it’s so easy to forget that God is still holding us. Still loving us.

    Here’s hoping the math cells implant, the phone operator turns into a live person, the keyboard tunes perfectly and balance is restored. And if doesn’t, I’ll send you tissues. :) Love you!

  • i felt it again this morning. like now. 

    i just want to run.

    i even told The Farmer. i just want to run.away.

    so i especially needed to be reminded.
    that i am truly held.
    feel it or not.
    see it or not.
    i am.
    my very being imprinted on His palm.
    is.49:15

    love your words here. how you share what you share.

    thinking about you. talking about you to Him.

  • beautiful beatiful post!

    luv u – hope today is a good one for you!!

  • Understand what you are saying here oh so well.  :)   Praying the Lord give you strength as He holds you in His hands.  That His peace be your peace today as you walk through the day.  You sound like a wonderful mommy!  Your heart and eyes are in the right place, so now He can do the rest.  Praying that the time with your husband away flies super fast.  ~ Deborah

  • Why is it that we fight the very thing we want?…
    safety
    security
    unconditional love
    ReSt….
    all available when we surrender.
    Why is it such a fight?!?!

    Great thoughts!

  • This unfailing, never changing love, that never leaves, becomes more and more real every mile of this journey called LIFE. love you much.

  • This So resonated with me.  I think because it is something that God is trying to teach me right now.  And you are a brave and wise woman, Amber.  I admire you a lot!  Thanks for sharing this with all of us!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories