April 15, 2010

  • {Moms are Timeless}


     
     
    Today my mom turns 60!

    I know she won’t mind me telling the world her age…
    she’s one of those women that just doesn’t care about that kind of stuff.
    She’s always embraced what life brings with grace and calm~
    though when she reads this she’ll laugh at the calm part. ;)

    But I don’t think “calm” means acting like nothing ever ruffles your feathers..
    only knowing where to turn when those feather ruffling times come.

    That’s mom.

    She’s passionate.
    About God. About her family. Her beliefs.

    And she’s honest.
    Like really, truly honest~ about her own heart….
    What her struggles are and how obeying God isn’t always easy.
    She doesn’t feel the need to pretend to be something she’s not -
    or let the insecurity of “what will others think if I admit I don’t have it all together….”
    keep her from admitting she doesn’t have it all together.

    Which isn’t that the best kind of Christian after all?
    Not the kind that acts like they never falter or fail…
    but the kind that knows no matter how great a fault or failure – His grace is greater still.
    And that is the only thing that gets any of us through!

    I love that she’s made me know it’s okay to not be perfect. 

    She’s a great prayer warrior…
    like the kind that convicts me and I want to aspire to be!
    Often when I say, “Mom, will you pray about this?”
    Her answer – “I already have been..”

    Her intuition is amazing.
    And usually dead on.

    She has so much sensitivity to others and their feelings.
    And possesses such a deep ability to love despite a childhood of hurt and abuse.

    She’s a wonderful wife~
    not always liking my Dad’s vocation {pastor}… ;)
    but standing by and supporting him through 38 years of ministry, regardless.
    Knowing that before she’s “Mrs. Pastor’s wife” she’s simply, “just his wife” –
    which is who she truly desires to be anyway.

         

       

    She’s an awesome cook. A talent I did not inherit.
    And an amazing teacher. Another talent I did not inherit. 

    I think her generosity stands out to me the most~
    I’ve never known anyone so giving.

    Whenever I need her- she’s there. {HUGE period after. and no exceptions.}
    Despite having an incurable disease herself and not feeling well most days…
    she’s still the strongest of our family. in so many ways!

    She’s an amazing note writer~
    I have dozens of cards and scraps of paper where she’s communicated words of encouragement and love.

    We have a pretty tight mother-daughter relationship…
    but believe me, we have our moments. :)

    We’re very alike and can drive each other nuts at times.
    She’s hot headed. Which IS something I inherited. ;)
    We can argue like all get out and hurt each others feelings.

    It’s not always straight out of the “Little Women” storybook for us..
    but we’re quick to make things right- usually within the same conversation. :)  
    And no matter what, there remains a closeness.
    a genuine closeness. and depth to what we have.

    Which I honestly feel the most REAL kind of relationships are the ones that have a bit of conflict from time to time~
    it’s only human. inevitable. a part of life. it’s gonna happen. we’re fleshly people. ;)

    But when there’s unconditional acceptance -
    there’s a FREEDOM to talk things through and deal with issues.
    Not just ignoring them or pretending they don’t exist.
    And that kind of freedom brings a whole new level of understanding and trust to a relationship.
    Sure there’s times we might agree to disagree.. but it doesn’t hinder or cause a cloud over us being real with each other. 

    I’m so thankful for that.
     
    I joke sometimes about how that every relationship needs a good fight every now and then to clear the air and get rid of any superficial junk.
    {but don’t take me up on that one for awhile.. hormones make me a tad extra sensitive these days!!} ;)

    I remember people saying you never truly appreciate your mom until you are one yourself.
    I think that’s true.

    I feel like the older I get the more I get my mom. :)

    And I become more and more acutely aware of the gift I’ve been given.
    The heritage laid out before me…
    and the blessing of a wonderful example and pattern to follow.

    It’s funny though~
    I can see the physical changes in mom through the years.
    The few gray hairs popping out…
    {which I think I gave every one to her in the first half of this pregnancy she was so worried about me}

    But in many ways she just. seems. timeless. ~

    How she is now is how she’s always been…
    to me, anyway.
    I think back and can’t remember a time she wasn’t there…
    and it feels like she forever will be.

    Yes. I think our mother’s are so intertwined with our own hearts in a way beyond what we can truly express -
    that even when we’re separated.. whether by miles or physically by death.. still. they penetrate so much of who we are.

    no matter what..
    they’re part of us.
    simply timeless.
    in their own unique way.

    Happy Birthday Mom. I’m so grateful for your life~

    And in honor of my mom’s birthday why don’t you call up your own and let her know what she means to you…. :)
    or go hug your kiddos tight and just communicate what only a mother’s hug can communicate. :)

    Let’s celebrate the women in our lives that make it that much more beautiful~ !!!

    with love,

    amber.

Comments (42)

  • what a lovely dedication to your mom…and i love that it’s real…really real. i will see my mom tonight and love her extra much!!! thanks!

  • Sweet words about your mom. I see some of the same expressions in you two. Love that you can laugh together, and I know the best, love God.

  • Very sweet post.  Moms are wonderful- that’s why I love being one!

  • This almost made me cry. Partly because your Mom seems so wonderful, and partly because I wish my Mom had more of these qualities. But I’m a big girl, I know better than to focus on the bad. So now it’s time to think of her good qualities….this was a bunny trail. Sorry. Happy Birthday to your mother.

  • Your mom sounds like a wonderful woman. And she ages very gracefully, too.

  • This is what I want my daughter to write about me when I am grown. I am not close with my Mom…she is a very “closed” kind of person and I have always longed for a close relationship with my Mom.  More than almost anything, I want to be close to my kids and have that kind of honest, open communciation with them, so I am trying to do that these days and hopefully it will continue into the future. You are very blessed to have a Mom you are close to and who is a woman of God. But you already knew that.

  • Well Emma is the splitting image of her grandma!

    Happy Birthday to your Mom. She did a good job in her calling!

    Now I think I’ll go find a few loved one’s to hug!

  • I really loved your mom. She’s the sort of person who makes a girl say “Whew, I’m not going to have mother-in-law problems here!!” (I’m fortunate I’ll get that in Michael’s mom too) Happy birthday to her! She’s lovely. And she raised you, so she’s pretty awesome in my book. ;)

  • I don’t know you, but I do know…

    The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree!

    I agree with appalolly…I pray this is what my children speak about me someday. 

  • Beautiful, timeless photo of you two at the end! Happy birthday to your mother! :)

  • what a beautiful tribute to your mum. i love that picture of your dad and her in the garden. and with your kids. what a beautiful relationship you have. i hope it continues to be blessed as the years stretch ahead of both of you.

  • Priceless photos! I can tell you really love your mom as you should. I miss my mom sooooooo much. We lost her about 11 years ago. I had the awesome privilege of leading her to the Lord 40 days before she died. She always knew the right things to say. And boy, could she cook!

    Thanks for the post. Your mom looks great! Happy Birthday to her.

  • OH I love the last picture of you guys, that is a very sweet tribute to your mom!

  • Your heart for your mother is absolutely beautiful~ and will pass down to your own daughters.  An amazing heritage you give to them!

  • Happy Birthday to your mom. This was a beautiful tribute to her. I related in so many ways. I’m grateful every day that I still have my wonderful mom with me. Mine just turned 78.

  • Happy Birthday to your Mom! I just talked to mine this morning — she’s 88.

  • I’ve heard so much about your Mom throughout the last …….. *I dont even know….. 12 years or 15 ??* I feel like I know her. ;)
    And the things you said here are the things that I’ve heard:

    ~Excellent teacher
    ~Sooo generous
    ~Honest & open….. NOT. at. ALL pretentious!!
    ~Adores your father immensely!!!

    These are the things I’ve heard from those who have known her.
    And I’m looking forward to meeting her this Summer.

    Lord willing :)

  • This brought me tears. Happy Birthday to a special lady!

  • What fun pictures.  Happy Birthday to your Mom!!!  What a wonderful daughter she has. =)

  • Can your mom be my best friend??? ( 8 You are so blessed. The pictures are fabulous and I really love the one where she’s kissing your Dad and has a good hold on his head! Isn’t that adorable? I love to see a woman with passion for both her husband and the Lord and her family! I hope her birthday was really, really special!

  • OH!!! And I LOVE the picture of you and your mom where you’re in your wedding dress! Very cute!

  • That’s so sweet! Yes, maybe I will call my Mom later today. I wish I could hug my kids, but they are too far away! I hold them in my heart.

  • Such a beautiful post. I love your Mom’s smile.
    In that picture at your wedding, you look SO much like Ben….or vice versa! I’ve never noticed that before but you two really favor each other.
    Happy Birthday, Amber’s Mom! :)

  • Amber~I love your mom . . .I sent her a little message on her phone yesterday. . . but would apprecitate it if you would give her a big ole hug and tell her it is from me. . . tell her to have a wonderful time on her little get away!!!!

  • What a lovely tribute to your mother!!  She sounds like an amazing woman.  You have been blessed.

  • This is beautiful :)

  • Oh Amber, your mom IS a terrific woman… she let you do the “photo-shoot” thing with her!!

  • Happy Birthday, Amber’s mom!!!

    Amber, do you realize I’m 3 years younger than your mother? LOL! Eeeeek!

    April 15th would have been my dad’s birthday. Knowing him, your mom MUST BE a jewel!

  • Happy Birthday, Ambers mom!  Thanks for helping make Amber what she is today!  I don’t know her well but she is an encouraging xanga friend!

  • What a beautiful entry….a relationship like that with your mom is truly a blessing  

  • SO beautiful! You are truly blessed!

  • Happy Birthday Jeanne!! Thank you my friend for your willingness to share your life and love for God with all of us. You have been such a blessing to my life! =)) Praying you have a wonderful time away!! You will be missed!!

  • soo sweet!!!   How lucky you are to have such a wonderful mommy!!!!!  And she is lucky to have a wonderful daughter!

  • What a treasure you have!  Thanks for the reminder to not take for granted our Mothers or the blessing of being a Mother.  Sometimes in the hustle and bustle of life, it’s easy to forget…

  • dear, dear amber!  what a way to rise up and bless your beautiful mom!  i just LOVE all the nostalgic pics!  how fun!  i’m sure it took you awhile to dig those up and scan them.  i also LOVE the pic of mother, daughter, and grandaughters laughing!!!!!  treasure that one!  what a precious family!  you are so special!  and i’m sure your mom has a lot to do with that….after reading this post!  blessings to you!  (i am not feeling nearly as connected to you lately. i’ll take the blame for that one!     mostly, it’s because i’ve not been online nearly as much since my husband is laid off…and is home.) 

    SO HAPPY for the wee one in your belly!  God is SO GOOD!

  • Now I love her too. :)

    What a beautiful tribute, lovely photos and precious words.

    Happy Birthday to your mom…enjoy celebrating!

  • SO sweet and precious! I’ve been so blessed recently catching up on your blog entries from a year of not having Internet at home. Your love for your husband, your love for your kids, and now this appreciative expression of your love for your mom… it all has been a great example of Titus 2: the older women teaching the younger women to love their families. =) Happy birthday to your Mama!

  • Lovely tribute to your sweet mother. Very nice pictures. Your precious words about your Mom tell much about you also and your tender heart.

  • You certainly are blessed to have a godly mother…what a difference that makes in our lives! You mentioned an incurable disease…would you message me and share…I work at a christian wellness center that uses God’s natural remedies and we have seen healing come to many who previously had no hope from the health system, and so I was just wondering if we might be able to help her.

  • good moms are beyond knowing how to describe aren’t they? you look so much like your’s~ and your girls do too. Neat when you can see the generations like that~ This post reminded me Mothers Day is right around the corner. thanks:) I can’t imagine life w/ out my mom. Such a blessing from God.

  • Van Harte Gefeliciteerd met uw zestigste verjaardag. Wat een prachtige liefdesverklaring van Amber. Goede gezondheid en vreugde.

    Happy congratulations on your sixtiest brithday. What a special tribute to you from Amber. Wishing you good health and joy and happiness.

    Lieve groeten

    Godeliva van Ariadone

  • @MollyDraga - 

    no.. she didn’t really “let” me. you know mom. ;) this was during our trip to SA~ at the Alamo!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories