April 20, 2010

  • {Mini Me & The Egg Heads}

    I’ve never seen myself in any of my kids…

    I see my husband. My mother in law. Even my brothers.

    But for the most part, when I look at them they just seem like their own little people to me~
    just them. and nobody else.

    Except…

    When Emma makes funny faces.

    Then…

    I see a slight resemblance. :)






     
    But even if they’re not always looking like me in their physical appearance, their actions and attitudes are a different story.
    It seems every day I come face to face with three mirrors that very accurately display my true reflection.
    And the sight I’m confronted with isn’t always pretty.
    There can be a lot of ug-lay.
    Ugly I’m not even aware that’s in my heart until I see it in one of them.

    I long ago knew that this whole mommy thing was something I couldn’t do on my own… I am completely disabled without Christ.
    That’s kinda easy to admit.
    But recognizing something needs changing and actually changing it~
    That’s kinda not so easy. 

    They say the definition of insanity is to keep doing the same thing expecting a different result.

    Well, I’ve been seeing some insanity setting in. ;) There’s some areas where I really feel God is waking me up and showing me the urgency to not just nod my head and agree with Him, but get up and follow His direction and walk in what He’s telling me to do. And yup~ nodding and walking are completely different things. I often find myself quite comfortable to just sit and nod. I’ve got the nodding part down pretty good now. But the walking after Him…. that takes commitment. sacrifice. A deliberate, conscious choice.

    And I’m not talking about trying harder.
    Revving myself up to be the super mom who produces super kids.

    I believe with all my heart that kids don’t turn out because of their parents, but often.. in spite of their parents. :)
    God’s grace is amazing that way to fill in all the areas we miss, don’t see, forget to cover, or didn’t realize until later! 


     
    What I’m talking about is just having a fresh perspective ignited in my heart lately that our kids are sponges and will absorb whatever is spilling over from our life~ whether good or bad.
    There really is a lot of truth behind the little saying, “more is caught than taught.”
    And if I want my kids to be passionate about Jesus Christ~ well, I better be giving them a glimpse of what that looks like.

    And I’m not sure it always looks like the things that I allow to occupy most of my time, energy, efforts and thoughts.

    Not long ago one of the kids asked Shayne what it meant to “Walk in the Spirit.” He explained it like this~
    “It’s kind of like having two dogs inside you.. one white, the other, black. And whatever dog you feed the most.. that’s the one that’s going to be the strongest.”
    I loved that simple illustration. It comes to mind often.
    And that’s exactly what I’m feeling lately– that there’s some “bags of dog food” around our home, in our hearts, that need tossing out!   :)

    It’s so easy for me to switch to auto pilot in my Christian life {which is where I’ve been living lately}.
    To find myself going through the motions without genuine sincerity…
    Falling into the trap of wanting to merely check a box on a list, rather than listening {truly listening} to that still small voice inside.
    Let’s be honest.. in the Christian life going through the motions and checking boxes is often more “convenient” than following the Spirit.
    Because boxes are easier. tidy. all packaged and sealed and looking like they’re supposed to. 
    But God and how He works in our lives can’t be wrapped up so neatly and certainly not contained to one box ~
    if anything when Jesus was here on earth He blew all Christian boxes out of the water!!
    We can’t always explain or understand what God is asking of us.. and that’s okay.
    It’s not for us to always explain or understand – it’s for us to simply have faith and obey.

    And our kids know.. they know if we’re box checkers or truly listening to Jesus. 
    We often can tell what’s inside our own hearts by what is played out in our children’s lives…
    Sometimes the evidence of what comes back is sobering and you realize it’s time for some “reprogramming of the sponges,” as one friend of mine put it so well.
    Which means there needs to be some re programming of some things in our own lives as parents to begin with.
    That’s where we’re at. Addressing some obvious changes that need to happen. {Maybe I’ll share more in a future blog}

    When I stop and read back over this I can’t help but to smile…
    kind of a half sigh/ half smile thing actually.
    My life is such a broken record.
    Often coming back to the same old same old just on different battle fronts.

    I used to think I’d get to a place in life {eventually} where I’d have it all figured out…
    that spiritual plateau where you can stand and look down on those less fortunate who aren’t there yet.
    Oh, and it exists alright because I’ve seen those that are there. ;)

    But I don’t know… more and more I find it rather freeing to simply realize life is a forever classroom and perfection is an “illusion.”
    Because if it weren’t– Why would we need Him?  :)

    = = ~ = = ~ = = ~ = = ~ = =

    We had a fun lunch yesterday… …
     

      

    Though I didn’t realize how scary some of them looked until I posted this picture!! :/
    Next time we need to work on those pepper lips a bit more, I think.

    Perhaps having some good ole Jones’ Root Beer to wash it all down helped deter from the scary egg head sandwiches staring up at them! ;)
    A special, “summery” kind of treat for sure!

    I just like how the bottles look myself. : ) 

    = = ~ = = ~ = = ~ = = ~ = =

    Emma had collected some rocks from the driveway the other day and was washing them off in the sink.
    When she couldn’t seem to get the spots off one and was growing frustrated I told her that’s how it was made.

    “But who made dem?” She asked.

    “Well… God did.”

    She looked at the rock and turned it over several times in her hand, her forehead wrinkling in thought.

    “But how did He det dem down here?”

    “Hmmm…” Wanting to simplify the eternally long Creation/Flood explanation I said, “I guess He makes them in heaven and just throws them over.”

    Without questioning my theory or giving it a second thought she answered quickly, “Well, why doesn’t He do dat wif candy too?”

    Good point. ;)

    = = ~ = = ~ = = ~ = = ~ = =

    Thanks so much to Rachel for the adorable skirt and ruffle pants in the photos below~ and to Danya for the sweet headband!
    Both your packages arrived on the same day. So fun. and so very thoughtful!!!

          


     

    “Your home is the single most powerful arena on earth to change a life for God.”

    amber.

Comments (32)

  • I wish I would have won that give-a-way of Rachels. I thought that set was SO adorable!

    I just was internally nodding my head to your post.  I very much connected with what you wrote about being a “box checker” instead of being led by the spirit. and I think a personality like mine tends to lean towards the box checking side anyway!  And I want to be a person who DOES something about the still small voice instead of just agreeing with it, but that is so hard, as you said.

    And cute pictures of you and Emma!  I always enjoy your posts! Have a great day, Amber.

  • Those are the CUTEST sandwiches, I am going to make them!  I love Jones rootbeer, it’s the bottles and the pictures on the bottles that do it I think!  You know you can send pictures into the company, and they will put it on their bottle if they like it!  You should do it!  I like Shayne’s analogy, very simple for little people (and big people!) to understand.  I think we are all broken records, learning and re-learning all the time.  Thank you for encouraging us with your words all the time! =)  Hope all of you are doing well. Emma looks so cute! She’s getting so big.

  • Hilarious sandwiches. My kids would have great fun making them but would refuse to eat them. :/
    I need to get in on some of these giveaways! :)

  • ahhhhh! enjoyed this post! now i need to do more than enjoy…soak up what God put in there for me and spill it out of my life.

  • cute sandwiches… someone has been sitting in the waiting room of Dr’s offices. ;)

  • Hey, I just came by real quickly. I have to run get dinner on. ERIN’S COMING HOME TONIGHT!!!
    I’ll come read through this later. But I had to mention as I saw that last picture… Love the dandelion seeds blowing in the air.
    Awesome shot!!

  • This touched a dry spot deep in my soul! Thank you. I’ve been on auto pilot- a box checker lately, and I don’t like it. Recently the boys and I were talking about reading our Bibles and checking up on each other. I thought- now wouldn’t it be better if my sons saw me spending hours in the Word? You know, they wouldn’t have to ask if I read my Bible today. But my Christian life is a journey and I am not a super-Christian. I keep learning and struggling.

  • sweet pictures! love the sandwiches!! what fun!  and great thoughts as always!!  i can totally relate to our kids being mirrors in which we see ourselves….so hard to be faced with the ugly parts!!  luv.

  • “in the Christian life going through the motions and checking boxes is often more “convenient” than following the Spirit”

    So very true.

  • Absolutely spot on as always – sorry I don’t always comment. I’d just rather leave you to say what you gotta say (and you do so, so well!) and attempt to follow in your lead; it’s always a good one. But just as you’ve stated here – it’s not always the nod that counts, in the beginning – it is a good start, though! Thanks for reminding me of this. I’ve been on such a roller coaster ride with my faith, it’s ridiculous …. in some respect I suppose that’s where I could say that I am at the best moment and worst within my relationship with Christ. Definitely needed the reminder…

    …and the funny sandwich faces, topped it all off – in making me smile.

  • Cute sandwiches — I’ll have to remember those when my grandbabies get bigger! Love the outfit on your little one — she is so sweet!

  • I always thought that Emma looked just like you…with or without funny faces!!!
    You both are so good at that! :)

    Great thoughts…been thinking about boxes…so thankful for others in the classroom too ~ so when’s recess? ha! ~ love Shayne’s dog analogy, been using that one around here.

    Your lunch is hilarious… and so is Emma!
    and of course.
    another way that Emma is like her mother… ;)

    love.

  • dear girl! you only see a slight resemblance?? I think she just looks like a younger version of you, but I know what you mean; my kids all look like their dad to me, and actually most everyone else on the planet. Maybe (BIG maybe today) someday we will have one that looks like me? or my family?

    your words on what our kids mirror…so good. so true. so scary.
    your words on God’s grace covering where we miss, mess up, and overlook….so thankful for that fact, that grace, that love that is extended earthward to us.

    a couple years ago a friend shared with me that this side of eternity we never get it all figured out…life’s a constant figuring it out, going over the same lessons…perfect is not for this life, this now, this side of eternity. if only i could always remember that….it is quite comforting to know that God does not expect perfection….He wants our brokenness, and ashes….

    always a great post…

    love ya~
    R

    ps…cute little girl you have there, and the outfit looks great! hope she likes it! ;)

  • @mrsbiddlebugs - 

    you know it. :) though this one came from waiting on the kids at their Le Mis. audition!

  • oh Amber!  I so feel this way all the time.  Like when am I going to get it?  When am I going to get enough grace to cover and overcome all of my yucky parts.  I want to be good so bad.  You put it all into words much better, this is just so refreshing………..and the sandwiches?  ridiculous.  really stinking ridiculous.  so cute.

  • “Your home is the single most powerful arena on earth to change a life for God.” What a powerful quote! Loved the post. I don’t want to be a box checker, either! Loved Emma’s response to the “throwing the rocks down from Heaven thing!” I would be tempted to throw some candy down someplace for her to find, but maybe that would be messing with theology a bit too much!

  • I think your oldest looks RIGHT like ya! Just darker hair! Our husbands just get all the credit! ;) That’s ok, we still birthed them! They can’t take that away! ;)   btw, the skirt and leggings are darling! I’m going to have to chat with Rachel or make my own (not near as fun! :(   ) Have a great day!

  • LOVE shane’s “dog” analogy…..what we feed grows.  selah!    LOVE your learnings, growings, and  groanings.  we all relate!

    i think your girls are both a healthy mix of you and shane.  but, ben?  well…..he’s pretty darn near a chip off the old block of shane.  their resemblance is almost scary.  in a good way. 

    hahahahaha~  as darling as emma’s questions are, i remember the annoyance of them at times.  and ridiculous answers.   i found your particularly hilarious!   hee hee hee!  <3 you!  and blessings! 

  • Emma is a sweetie!
    And I do see what you were talking about yesterday…not as bad as I thought!

  • Mini you is stunning as well. :)

    Lunch looks interesting!! Fun mommy!

    LOVE the last sentence!

  • Love the analogy of “walking in the Spirit”… what a great way to explain it! Your post is such an encouragement today.

    Such cute pictures of you and “mini you”. Btw, I think all of your adorable children resemble YOU!

    Love and hugs to you.

  • That’d be a good plan for money too… He could just “throw some over”. :)

    Funny. Made me laugh out loud :) .

  • Them sandwiches are really cute! I really enjoy your, it is been a good thing in my life.

  • I meant to say you blog!

  • @hananielsgirl - 

    you know me and details! ;)

  • very cool…….love the “walking in the Spirit” and the mini me photos!!

  • Emma’s right on the ball isn’t she?

    I’m starting to beleive we don’t ever really “get it” or what we think is “get it” in one season is something entirely different in another. At this point I think the only thing I know for sure is that it’s all about Him and I find peace when I relax in that.  Everything else I’m still trying to figure out.

  • Love your blog. Those sandwiches are so fun. Lovely pictures of you and your little one. Thank you for letting me peek into your life.

  • I know what you mean- it’s TERRIBLE to see attitudes/words in my children that I dislike in myself.  I want SO much to be a godly example for them.  I pray that daily, that Scott and I will live a godly example for our children to see.  I had a failure tonight and as I prayed with my boys, I just asked the Lord to be gracious and merciful and protect my children from the mistakes we make.  Thankfully, He IS gracious and merciful!

    Emma is adorable, absolutely adorable! 

  • I’m sending you a big, cute hug right now…..feel it?

  • This was a great post!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories