June 30, 2010

  • {June Bug}

      

     = = = = just some shots of the in and out randomness of our days from the past weeks = = = =

    Ben’s Find::


      

    I got in the van one afternoon to have this ugly thing looking up at me.
    I think Ben said it’s a crawfish. And in that last shot he says it’s waving.
    But crawfish must be related to frogs – they have the same expression don’t ya think?

                = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    Creations from Boredom::

    Drawing on old shirts. Ben’s became a flag. and Emma’s became a proclamation of who she obviously loves best! ;)

    Masks from animal plates a friend gave us.

    Homemade bird feeder out of pine cone covered in peanut butter and sprinkled with bird seed.



    Father’s day craft to hang on the van mirror – made from love, not boredom. :)  

                = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    Sleepy Mornings::


    Watching me while I make breakfast.

                = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    Content {non fighting} Afternoons::


                = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    Kate’s Hair::


     
    Her hair is so thick it’s crazy. When it gets too long it just begins to get knotted and constantly tangled. And since last time I tried cutting it myself it left us with two options – a. Kate walk with her head tilted to one side for months on end so people wouldn’t notice how lopsided it was. b. never let mom cut your hair again. We went with b. And ended up going to a beauty school a few weeks ago for the much needed trim. They’re really great places to go… if you have a strong bladder and can sit for six hours at a time!  

                = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    With Friends::



                = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    With Shoes::


    Kate and Ben are in a production Les Miserable this summer  and Ben plays a beggar – we weren’t quite sure how to make his shoes look tattered and worn. Then… we had an idea!

                = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    With all 3 girls::

     

                = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    With Those We Like The Best:


                = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    With The One We Miss The Most::

       

                = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = 

    With Dreams::
     
     

                = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    Some funny flubs from June::


    Shayne and Ben were going somewhere in the truck together…

    “Dad, ya know what’s the hottest girl I ever saw?”

    “Uh.. what did you say?”

    “The hottest girl! Do you know which it was?”

    Shayne said he felt himself becoming rapidly nervous and answered hesitantly….

    “Um… which… one?”

    Ben leaned toward him with excitement on his face and animation in his voice…

    “It’s on the new Ford F-250. It’s chrome and super sweet…”

    Shayne let out a sigh of relief.

    “OH!… You mean grill, not girl!!!”

    Ben looked at him with a “duh?” kind of expression.

    I hope he keeps that “duh?” look when it comes to girls for much much longer! ;)

      = = = =

    My pregnancy brain doesn’t always communicate with my mouth properly.

    “Hey guys… sit up and finish your tacos!”

    I see three confused faces looking up at me. Glancing at their plates I see why..

    “I guess I mean waffles!”

    And when Emma was asking over and over to keep a dog that uncle Scott said he would give her –

    “No sweetie. We couldn’t possibly have one more job.”

    Again the confused looks tell me…

    “I mean dog.”



      = = =

    And overhearing Emma from the back of the van saying…

    “Well you are fart Benny, and Tate is. But God is the fartest of all.”

    Shayne looks at me and opens his mouth to ask what I’ve been allowing his kids to talk like in his absence – - as I hurriedly assure him,

    “Smart, babe. She’s saying smart.”

    Everything with a s sound comes out like an f.

    smile = file
    sparkle = farkles 
    uncle scott = uncle fott
    swim = fim

    You get the idea. :)

             = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    Goodbye June~ Your days held alot of “feet” memories for us. 


    ¸.·´¸.·¨) ¸.·¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ (¸.·¨¯`♥ amber.
      
     

Comments (31)

  • Giggle giggle through those pregnancy bloopers and little Emma… These little kids sure keep us laughing, don’t they! :) Looks like a lovely summer, and that you’re doing special things with your kids even with their father’s absence. Now THAT takes special effort, being pregnant AND missing your husband!

  • sitting here with my coffee mug and a big ole’ ”file” on my face between gulps of caffeine.
    ( I am not a lady-like-sipper. yet. I am a gulper.)

    Fun randomness girl! Love the way you make me laugh!

    I think that your pregnant brain hit the nail on the head about the dog. Sounds like one more job to me!
    Sarah wants her own dog IN THE WORST WAY EVER.
    That and a sister. So. Like I just told Rachel when she brought up dogs at foreveranoatneygirl,
    I am totally in the dog house… cuz I ain’t workin on either one! Dog or sister.
    ( I am just so “fart” like that.)

    Happy first day of July!!!
    <3

  • so many fun pictures, and fun times..especially can appreciate the ‘non fighting’ afternoons since they are the so rare in my house. and, little lisps, and funny ways of talking…i’m gonna miss those things when my Ava loses her lisp…can’t bare to correct her or try to get her to say things properly sometimes cuz it’s sooo cute!

    love your way…
    Rb

  • Any mom with 3 or more kids gets their words mixed up. When I had 4 I told my kids to “take these chicken tops out to the carrots.”
    They have never let me forget that comment. One of them even drew me a picture of it. That was the first of many mixed-up words.
    Glad you enjoyed June. Celebrate July now.

  • Good morning! Love the dog and the shoe! Looks like June was a good month for you guys.
    Have a great Thursday.

  • lisps are adorable! adds laughter and fun to each conversation. :) sometimes only inside though.

    You girls all have that summer beauty glowing! love the laying on the counter watching…..homey.

    Boys will always be boys! scream……creepy critters send me that way.

    Have a gorgeous day!

  • What a joy to read your post! Your pictures are simply wonderful. So very nice.  The craw fish or crawdaddy or whatever it is reminds me of when my boys would bring such creatures home. Boys sigh aren’t they great?  Certainly not sugar and spice with their interests! I enjoy your site very much. Take care.

  • Gotta love that old “George Bush” sticker on the dump truck!

    And…I got a kick out of your pregnant word blunders.  I say stuff like that and I’m not pregnant. Sometimes its cuz I have other things on my mind and kind of answer without thinking and get my words mixed up.  At least the kids usually catch on and can correct me! 

    Lovely June pictures!

  • precious! Shelton sleeps w/ his ball too. :) looks like some fun times~

  • I so enjoyed reading your randomness.  It can be so nice to look back on our days; sometimes what seemed interminably difficult at the time, when reflected back upon we can see so many shots of grace shining through!

    My Dannye Reigh would agree with Ben and the F250 “girl” – she takes a fit everytime she sees one of the new bodystyles, specifically the tailgate and the grill!  And she’s 26 years old!

    My Pamela had a lisp when she was small – still does when she’s singing or very tired.  But she wasn’t the difficult one.  When Nathanael was very small, he couldn’t say his “tr” sounds.  He replaced it with “f” – and loved talking about his trucks.  Try explaining that to your church friends!!!

  • hehe, I LOVED this post! the pictures are awesome, and I love the ” flubs” your so adorable your kids are pretty darn cute themselves

  • I had a beauty school DISASTER- went to have my eyebrows waxed and the girl dripped hot wax on my EYELASHES!  The instructor came over and picked them clean.  The student kept apologizing over and over and I said “I’ll be fine as long as I leave with my eyelashes intact!”  My sister was with me and she told the girl she would specifically ask for her next time because she knew she’d NEVER do that again!

    The picture of Emma with Shayne choked me up- I know first hand how hard it is on y’all for him to be away.  Hope you get to enjoy a great July 4th weekend together!

  • Great post! Love all the pictures and the dog chewing the shoes is a great idea to make them look tattered.

  • Too funny. It’s time for some haircuts around here too. Anna is growing her bangs out – what a chore!! We are NEVER cutting them again :) Love the picture of your son asleep in his sports sheets and blanket with a football tucked under his chin. . .  oh how that makes me think of my Thomas. Thomas comes home tomorrow night, and although it’s only for a week -  I cannot wait!!!!!!!!! Fun summer pictures and wonderful memories, I’m sure!

  • cute post!  love the pics……

  • Your “funny flubs” made me die laughing!!! Oh my goodness, the “tacos” comment…you should keep that in mind for the next occasion when you are having trouble getting the kids’ attention, right? Just say something totally off the wall!

    I LOVE the picture of you with your three girls. You look fantastic!!!

    The beauty school idea is a great one! I might try that sometime, now that I live too far away for my mom and sisters to cut my hair anymore! (Terry cuts his own and Lee’s hair). Our family always got dental cleaning and small jobs done at dental schools, and they were great too – super cheap compared to the regular dentists, and good service. Like you said, though, it takes a while, and we always had to block out at least half a day to get it done!

  • such adorableness and creativity you capture through your pictures!
    love little Emma’s shirt=priceless
    thinking about you with your hubby being so far away.

  • Your little Emma’s fs in place of s, made me smile.  Our Brooklen would also do f in plac of s (one of my favorites was featshirt instead of sweatshirt) and when she would attempt to make an s sound, her little toungue couldn’t help but slip out between her teeth turning it into sh.  We had a lot of fun working on it, and she would giggle at how she just COULD NOT keep it back to say the s sound properly. I remember when she finally mastered it, I felt a little sad because her words weren’t nearly as cute! 

  • @aretheyallyours - o my goodness! no wonder i always cringe when getting my brows waxed! and i was worried about the wax being too hot! dripping it on your lashes is a whole other thing! hope you made it out of there without too much scarring. ;O)

  • those are great pictures!

    *BOWtique

  • So funny. Every little story just hit me and put so many smiles on my face, along with the giggles. Mixing up things is just part of family life isn’t it?! Our good friend have 8 children and she is the administrator for our school. Last year she put our oldest son’s name on David’s award. This year, his name was on the award, but our middle son’s name was on the program. The boys think it a hoot that they are still getting high school awards now they are in their mid 20s, and I told my friend not to worry, we feel so like family!
    Cute, sweet, and beautiful pictures of your summer days. I will remember to pray for you all as you miss Daddy/hubby. May the Lord strengthen you all.

  • @down_onthefarm - 

    hello.

    thanks for letting me blab today. i needed it more than i realized. and sure beats talking to myself. ;)

  • @ata_grandma - 

    ha! that’s great~ “chicken tops!” love that one. :)

  • @pettybunch - 

    oh, dear! I can imagine. :/ i think some of the things our kids say is one of choicest ways God keeps us humble – and gets a big ole grin Himself, i’m sure. :)

  • @aretheyallyours - 

    ugg. that made me squint my eyes just thinking of it – - hot wax on your eyelashes does not sound pleasant!!! your sister was probably right though.. that girl i’m sure was way careful next time. well, hopefully. :/

    thanks for all your encouragement, kellie. you’re so kind.

  • @angiearmour - 

    oh yes.. we’ve done the dental thing too. :/ but i tell ya – that’s the cleanest you’ll teeth will probably be EVER! :)

  • I loved the update and all of the photos. Emma always hits me in the heart because she looks so much like my youngest sister, Callie (who is now 11 and I’m having a cow trying to believe that).

    I hope your July is just as “feet!” :)

  • I loved this post! Your kids are all three super sweet, but Emma gets me every time. She is so cute! The stuff she says just melts me. :) I love that stage when they are big enough to be a little more independent but little enough to be cute and little. :) Liam is growing into that stage and it’s just so much fun!

  • Lovely post. Your kids are so adorable.

  • Your blogs make me laugh. Great writer you are! It’s going to be so fun when my little girl learns to talk. What fun things to blog about!  http://mnmdayton.blogspot.com/

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories