July 4, 2010

  • {INDEPENDENCE. of a few kinds}


      

    On 3 July 1776, John Adams wrote home to his wife Abigail, excited that the Continental Congress had finally voted for independence the day before. He said:

    “The Second Day of July 1776, will be the most memorable Epocha, in the History of America. I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated, by succeeding Generations, as the great anniversary Festival. It ought to be commemorated, as the Day of Deliverance by solemn Acts of Devotion to God Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with Pomp and Parade, with Shews, Games, Sports, Guns, Bells, Bonfires and Illuminations from one End of this Continent to the other from this Time forward forever more.

    You will think me transported with Enthusiasm but I am not.—I am well aware of the Toil and Blood and Treasure, that it will cost Us to maintain this Declaration, and support and defend these States.—Yet through all the Gloom I can see the Rays of ravishing Light and Glory. I can see that the End is more than worth all the Means….”

    * * * * *

    I never realized until this year that the 2nd of July was when the Declaration was signed, however, the 4th was when it was made public. Making the reason why we celebrate the 4th.

    We were at one of these such great Anniversary Festivals yesterday… melting in the heat, I mean, making memories despite the heat. :)

    Kate and Ben were at their play practice and we went with just Emma for a few hours, but decided to go back after picking them up. We debated it at first – going back, or going home. But even though it was scorching hot, and Shayne and I were both extra tired from a long, long week, and I spend a good deal of time in the bathroom no matter WHERE we happen to be {7 month baby inside does that to ya}… still, what swayed us was wanting our kids to CeLeBraTe this day! It’s one worth celebrating. To stop and remember. To hoop& holler and oohh&aahh. To do things you wouldn’t normally do – like standing around sweating buckets while your kids get stars painted on their face by the girl scouts {that don’t exactly resemble stars}. To me, it’s worth the sacrifice of tiredness, heat, and even public restrooms so that the joy and pride we have in this country will, and hopefully is being passed on to them. That someday they’ll want that too for their families, cause…  “this is what we did when we were kids!” :)  

    Over dinner at a little hamburger/ milkshake joint {that played “Lollipop” over and over on the jukebox that I’ve now had in my head ever since} we told the kids the story again of why America was founded. Why they wanted freedom from England. Though my husband’s Canadian he makes a better American history teacher than me {don’t ask about the details I was inserting… I finally just shut up}. I loved hearing him talk with such conviction as the kids sat wide eyed and obviously fascinated.

    Interesting point he made to me later , not the kids, is that two of the main things our founding fathers were fighting for/ against…. religious freedom and lower taxation are two of the very things we still fight for/ against today!

    Amazing how life cycles – - times may change, but people never do.

     

    Still, despite her flaws I love my America.

    Does she need God?
    Of course.
    But hasn’t she always?
    Though some might not like it -
    You cannot change.deny.or alter her history.
    She was established upon the truths of God’s Word…
    Just read the Declaration of Independence! {wow}

    As Benjamin Franklin said : “The longer I live, the more convincing proofs I see of this truth: ‘that God governs in the affairs of men. ‘And if a sparrow cannot fall to the ground without His notice, is it probable that an empire can rise without His aid?”

    And though this day sends me digging through my closet looking for the brightest red and white and blue I can find. {though I had to go with plain white – since that’s all that would fit}. To teach my kids {more} what it’s all about. To sing at the top of my lungs {and with conviction}, “God Bless America,” and feel that rush of emotion {with tears burning my eyes} as I watch our soldiers parade past in uniform…

    I’m thinking this afternoon about another kind of “declaration.” A different sort of freedom, though similar – because it is freedom from a tyranny that seeks to rule and ruin and control my life. {eph.6:12}

    And I’m reminded that even though I’m not taking down empires and setting up new ones, I’m far from a world leader, or even a remotely good one, and I’m not physically liberating people or fighting battles – - – YET. I am building something in my own right. Within the 4 walls of my home. Within the inner chambers of my heart. There is a battle that has freedom at it’s core. And if I’m to be an OVERCOMER — like the the founding fathers of our nation were – I better make sure I’m living by the same motto… “In God We {I will} trust.”  

    He is the ONLY place true freedom is found.

    “To open the blind eyes, to bring out the prisoners from the prison, and them that sit in darkness out of the prison house.” {isa.42:7}

    “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.” {gal.5:1}

    “Blessed are those who find strength in you. Their hearts are on the road that leads to you. Blessed is the man that makes the Lord his trust. {ps. 84:5. ps.40:4}

    {Shayne and I read some of these verses ^ this afternoon. love them.}




    {taken today after church}  

    Was really moved by these words as we sang them in church this morning….

    While the storm clouds gather far across the sea,
    Let us swear allegiance to a land that’s free,
    Let us all be grateful for a land so fair,
    As we raise our voices in a solemn prayer.

    God Bless America,
    Land that I love.
    Stand beside her, and guide her
    Thru the night with a light from above.
    From the mountains, to the prairies,
    To the oceans, white with foam
    God bless America, My home sweet home.”

    * * * * *

    Thinking too of another kind of independence that was established some 14 years ago on this day….
    seems so short and yet so forever all at the same time…


    the day Shayne asked me to be his wife!!!   


    {courting days}

    {wedding day}

    {married days}

    no. we don’t always see fireworks when we kiss. we don’t have “the perfect marriage” like that. ;)
    but I’m glad regardless of what we’ve walked and weathered together… when it’s all said and done…
    he’s still the one I want to be kissing for the rest of my life! :)

    * * * * *

    hapPy engagement anniversary uS! and haPpy birthday America!!

    now to start gathering blankets.kiddos.and mosquito spray to go watch some {real} fireworks!! :)


    ¸.·´¸.·¨) ¸.·¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ (¸.·¨¯`♥ amber.

     

     

Comments (30)

  • Happy 4th of July!

    just a little *wink*…you’ll be surprised at the fireworks to come when the kiddo’s are older and you’re not so tied up in mothering.

  • I loved your post! And I loved the pictures. We were all dressed up in red, white and blue today and heard a great independence sermon at church…

    @DawneElla - it’s nice to know that.

  • I so enjoyed reading this today, July 4th.  I have such a burden for our country, and I love the enthusiasm you presented, as well as the truth, “He is the ONLY place true freedom is found.” And the in Him do we trust.

    BTW, I love Emma’s outfit in the first photo – absolutely adorable!

  • The reasons our country was founded are noble and hard to believe sometimes. How far we have fallen, America! It’s so good to teach our children this stuff!

  • I love your honest synopsis of life….there are storms to weather….heart issues to address and many other things that crop up like little foxes after the fruit of our labors that we are to fight off.   Life can be hard  and fabulous in one big bundle but one thing it is ALWAYS….given by God. Every breath we breathe is in Him…every step we take..every glance we take…it is HIS gift. In that we can trust..and in that we lay our burdens..our lives with every tailor made trouble is in the hands of our almighty God who is fashioning us for His glory.  I love to rest in that and that gives me the freedom to live for His glory in all things.  Thanks for spurring those thoughts on in your posts.  Hugs.

  • I love your honest synopsis of life….there are storms to weather….heart issues to address and many other things that crop up like little foxes after the fruit of our labors that we are to fight off.   Life can be hard  and fabulous in one big bundle but one thing it is ALWAYS….given by God. Every breath we breathe is in Him…every step we take..every glance we take…it is HIS gift. In that we can trust..and in that we lay our burdens..our lives with every tailor made trouble is in the hands of our almighty God who is fashioning us for His glory.  I love to rest in that and that gives me the freedom to live for His glory in all things.  Thanks for spurring those thoughts on in your posts.  Hugs.

  • As usual, I love the pictures! The married days one cracks me up. Thanks for the smile we are having a bad 4th of July here in all the rain…No fireworks of any kind this year.

  • Great Bible verses. You are a beautiful family.

  • Yes, founded on Christain principles, and yet we’ve drifted soooo far.  Still when I hear our national anthem, or see our flag waving elegantly, I feel a sense of pride….knowing where it all started….and that I’m a part of it. 
    One nation, under God…..
    with liberty and justice for all….
    everyone, given freedom that was born at the cross!

    Beautful pictures of your family! 

  • Good morning Amber, Lovely pictures. So good to look back, in any way you do here in this post. I love and understand the way you “translate” the great historic event into your visions, aim and daily life….Because that is the purpose of remembering and celebrating history, I believe.

    You all look very well, although you live a full and stressfull life at the moment, as I have understood. You look beautiful, take care, rest a lot so the baby can grow abundantly ( can I say that in english ? in Dutch we say: zodat de baby kan voorspoedig groeien ). Anyway….have a good, pleasant and playfull week .

    Lieve groeten

    Godeliva

  •  I was moved to tears by your insight and quotes. II Chronicles 7:14 remains true.

    Love your lovely photos.

  • Amen! I am so proud of our country too, and want our children to have that same passion for America to keep their freedom! Kind of disturbing the way some things are going these days!

    That first picture of you and Shayne from “courting days”…you look a LOT like Meg Ryan when she was younger. Anybody ever say that to you before?

    Love the family pictures. And like someone else said, Emma’s outfit on that first picture is ADORABLE.

  • Good morning, Amber…
    Loved your post. The photos, too!
    Always a nice stop here at your place.
    .
    Sweet.

  • one more thing.
    love the banner with that handsome son of yours.

  • Love this so much.

  • Cute pictures!  You look so pretty in your white dress!  Hope you guys had a great 4th.

  • Love all the Awsome pics!  funny, I was going thru some of the same things yesterday, but trying to keep my mouth shut for the sake of the childrens’ joy and excitement (it was hard!) ok, confession I did have a short little grype session to my 15 yr old (which she didn’t appriciate!) after that I tried to stop, even when we got rained on and had to stay in wet clothes the rest of the night! LOL!!!

  • super great post!! happy remembering your engagement! those times are so fun! ;O)

  • @DawneElla - 

    hey~ i need to confirm those #’s you sent me for Paul cause Shayne said he couldn’t get either to work. i might have copied them down wrong. :/

    and *wink* back. you’re so cute!

  • awesome post, lovely family… live, love, laugh :)

  • @pettybunch - 

    a friend of mine made that~ isn’t it great! she has an etsy site where you can find more of her adorable stuff – evie n lizzie is the name.

  • @appalolly - 

    meg ryan, huh? nope – never heard that one. =)

  • Everybody can be great… because anybody can serve. You don’t have to have a college degree to serve. You don’t have to make your subject and verb agree to serve. you only need a heart full of grace. a soul generated by love.

  • Our pastor quoted that first paragraph from John Adams yesterday at church! LOVE your family’s 4th of July photos! And what a good idea, the verses you and your husband read together. That would be a fun 4th of July tradition to start with my daughter when she’s older (and any other kids that may come along). =)

  • @Hutch5 - I checked the #’s in the message and they are both correct so maybe you did copy them down wrong…Paul is looking forward to hearing from Shayne so he’ll be glad to hear he has tried to contact him. Ask Shayne if he doesn’t get a quick response from the cell to call the house. Thanks~Dawne

  • A delight to read. It is important to teach the children of today’s generation the foundational truths our nation was built upon. Your children are blessed!

  • Beautifully written, Amber. You know me……I LOvE it.  The family picture is great! :)

  • Ah! Such a refreshing post. You look great, friend! I appreciated the July 2nd history lesson. I love pieces of trivia and this will be forever stored in my brain.

    You know what? Jesse and his (huge) family descended upon my house 13 years ago, on July 5, to swim in my pool and have a cook out. I didn’t even invite them. I didn’t know what to think except, “Oh know! I see a mess to clean up!” They did everything – the cooking, clean up, and nary a wet towel was left behind when they went home! So funny. He reminded me about that the other day. Who knew???????? We became prayer partners after that and didn’t become romantically interested in each other until around October. Gotta love God’s was of sneaking in a husband on a weekend full of sparks!!!

  • I love your post and pictures, as always. :) I always enjoy to read your posts. I am just not always good as leaving comments. :) I am working on that. :)

  • Hahaha, love the distance between you and Shayne. Don’t touch him! He’s got cooties!

    Where are you hiding that baby, dear?? That’s just wrong! All the rest of the world is jealous.

    Love this post. <3 Proud to be American with ya, babe.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories