July 15, 2010


  •  


    I walked into the kitchen earlier and saw Emma standing with the freezer door open -
    as close into it as she could get.

    “Whatcha doing there, baby?” I asked.

    She turned around with a big chocolate covered grin on her face…

    “Im trying to teep my ice tream from dipping off da tone….”

    I started laughing at her cuteness and method of thinking.
    She laughed too, drawing her shoulders up in that cute shy way she does.

    “… it was doeing all oder da p-wace!”

    “Well, you’re pretty smart standing in the freezer then, huh? Cause that will stop the mess, I’m sure…”






    I reached for my camera on the nearby table and sat on the floor smiling and watching and laughing with her, and at her.

    As I looked through that tiny square viewfinder scenes from the week came flooding in -
    and suddenly, I saw how my life so often resembles eating an ice cream cone and what my little girl was doing made perfect sense ! 

    I mean what do typical ice cream eaters do when they find their ice cream running down all over their hands?
    Can’t you just instantly picture it in your mind….
    That sideways slant of the cone turning quickly in a swirling circular motion with tongue stuck out going the full circumference around..
    stopping from time to time to make sure you’ve made it all the way around!
    Only to discover once you do, there’s another drip down the other side, and you begin the process all over again.
    Probably making eating an ice cream cone one of the funniest things to watch – when ya actually sit there and watch someone eating one!





    Apparently, Emma realized that trying to deal with the mess of melting ice cream was pretty useless… 
    a waste of time. even exhausting.

    She must have grown tired of trying to deal with it on her own and make it work,
    and recognized a source of power nearby that was bigger than she was!
     

    Something that could do a better job of preventing the mess she couldn’t handle.
    Something more capable.
    Something DESIGNED to do what she couldn’t!


     


      


    How many times do I find myself standing in the messes of life, whether of my own doing or the ones that kinda just spill down on you from others… trying to come up with a solution of my own. a remedy. a quick fix. Maybe if I spin the cone faster no one will notice all my drips. Tip it just right so that it looks like I know what I’m doing. Listen to those people, read that book, attend that seminar, that give me all the correct 1.2.3. step methods of how it’s supposed to be done…



    Or.


    Run to The Power – the Source available to me that gives me the true help and healing and cleansing I need!



    how I love it that even if I’ve tried my own way first…  and then come to Him with the sticky ugly unpleasant mess I’ve created, He never turns me away. There is never a mess that I could carry to Him that would cause Him to be overwhelmed. to wonder how He’ll fix it. or worry that I’m beyond repair. Because He’s big enough like that. He’s capable. and He was designed to take the junk of my life and turn it into something beautiful – even desirable. it’s.what.He.does.

    He embraces me – drips and all! :)


    ¸.·´¸.·¨) ¸.·¨)
    (¸.·´ (¸.·´ (¸.·¨¯`♥ amber
       



    p.s. What’s your favorite flavor ice cream? I think mine would have to be chocolate marshmallow 

    & p.s.s. Yes, I really did make a ice cream cone and let it melt to take these pictures – can you tell I’m a bit stir crazy in my “bed rest!”

Comments (46)

  • Oh Amber – I love it when you post! So so so true and exactly what I needed to hear.right.now!!

    I am praying for you and hope you have a FABULOUS weekend!!
    Love you & miss you tons – Mj

  • chocolate chip cookie dough. :)

    ” it’s.what.He.does. He embraces me – drips and all! “
    oh thank you. I am sitting here so tired of my own drips…and needed reminded of His embrace.

    thinking about you resting all up…love ya and miss you!

  • cute…cute… did she change into long sleeves for the occasion? It’s so NOT cold today. :) Praying for you…

  • @mrsbiddlebugs - 

    she was running through the sprinkler earlier and came in freezing, so that’s what she put on. :) yes.. so not cold here. ick!

  • @maryjunemiller - 

    @mrsbiddlebugs - 

    and hey.. you guys have to give your favorite ice cream flavor! no comments unless you follow the rules. :p

  • I just loved this post!  I love the real life happenings, I love the lessons (so, so true!!  Praise Him that it is true!), and I love the photos!  I think it’s really neat that Emma let you take pictures of her eating icecream in the freezer!  So much fun.

    My favorite icecream is Bluebell Strawberries and Homemade Vanilla – with chocolate syrup!  I’m not fond of “strawberry icecream”, but really like the strawberries in the homemade vanilla.  YUMMY!!  I haven’t had any in 6 months, though.  But I have lost 45 pounds!!  Give and take – that’s the story!!!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  • So,so true! 

    And then one step further   He does what you did and loves us in the midst of our mess….seeing beauty in US even when the mess is running down our cheeks.  What a wise mom and even wiser Father!

    As for ice cream…..mint chocolate chip is at the top of my list.

    Much love to you and that little life growing everyday inside of you!

  • What? Rules??? This is a legalistic site… I’m outta here… ;) Did you know it’s national ice cream month?

  • Wow! I need to go spend some time in the prayer closet. Great post! I must admit, I am very guilty of trying to manage things on my own, and every time I just turn my problems over to the Lord, He comes through for me. Thanks for the reminder. Loved it. BTW, I would have done the same thing to get the pictures.:) http://mnmdayton.blogspot.com/

  • cool pics, great analogy…and making a cone, watching it melt, and cleaning up the mess is NOT bed rest…just sayin… : ) hmmmm favorite flavor…I really don’t go crazy over ice cream, but I can always eat…I think my favorite ice cream was from a little out of the way homemade ice cream shop in Louisville KY, they had so many flavors…and it’s been years ago…can’t remember what my favorite was…maybe peperment??? or mint??? oh well, good memories!!!  Happy “bed rest”!!!  Or just plain homemade ice cream and fresh strawberries…good grief girl, you’re making me hungry for ice cream!

  • i enjoy the melting cone…cause it shares with us the analogy that you are sharing.a nd Emma is not only sooo smart but getting SO big. wow. what a smartie pants she is.

  • Very very precious. I was thinking what a cute little you she is. Thank you for sharing those ponderings. My fav ice cream is Jamocha Almond Fudge by Baskin Robins.
    Thinking of you often often and praying!

  • Love you, sugar. :) Sorry I didn’t talk more to you tonight. Sarah said to tell you “hello” and she’s sorry to hear about the bedrest! Wish you could come out and visit me again – Michael and I are going to San Antonio to poke around on the Riverwalk this weekend. (Perhaps I can convince him it’s at La Cantera, eh?!) We need a girl date sometime.

  • P.S. Emma is seriously gorgeous.

  • Too precious~ love the analogy.  Strawberry Cheesecake Icecream and Strawberry Shortcake Icecream!

  • That Emma’s one clever girl! And so’s her Mom…it always amazes me how you look at things and see God’s life lessons in them…I think that’s a gift!

    My favorite ice-cream is Praline’s and Cream…from Baskin’s and Robbins Ice-Cream Parlour…when I buy it in the box from the grocery store it just doesn’t taste the same, so I don’t buy it there and rarely actually go to the parlour so when I do…it’s a real treat! Too beat the heat, lately I’ve been on a kick of Strawberry Frozen Yogurt mixed with almond milk to make a smoothie….mmmm soooo good…and a little lower on the calories.  

    I hope you are getting the bed rest you need. You’ve been on my mind and in my prayers much! ~Dawne

  • That is so sweet! And good analogy… Bed rest isn’t making you stir-crazy – it’s making you think through things some of the rest of us in our busyness don’t even think of!

    Favorite ice cream: mocha madness from Blue Bell. :)

  • I have to agree with you on the chocolate marshmallow, though I do like soft serve vanilla a lot. My mom’s favorite is caramel caribou. She buys 3 boxes at a time, and eats it out of the box. I guess when you’re 92 you can eat what you want when you want. :)

  • This is just one thing I really like about you…. you find God in your everyday and I love the way you share it with us.  Loved this one.  And dear little miss em is another reason i love your blog.  I so want to meet her someday.

    As for icecream… i love raspberry.

    Take care girlfriend.  Praying for ya.

  • loved this post, and your little girl is a doll!

  • I love Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia. Even the fatfree one. :)

    I love the allegory you shared. Loving us-mess and all……yes HE does. :)

    Rest well….

  • Awesome post!!  But to think you “wasted” a perfectly good cone for the pictures…

    My favorite flavor is mint chocolate chip.  (actually I’ll try about any flavor…I love ice cream).

  • She is so cute! So true!! I would have to say mine changes too much to say

  • @mrsbiddlebugs - cracking up over your comment! thanks for the laugh.

  • thinking of you bed-resting…
    prayers and hugs.

  • maybe your on bed rest to write inspiring things for us to read :) ……  jk, but I sure am enjoying reading your posts!  

     black cherry is def the best!

  • tasty post! it’s neat how there are no rules to eating cones. we all have our own way of licking……. (thinking of sister Michelle and her HUGE flavored cone at Walnut Creek.) :)

    Thinking of you as you rest gently and think deeply. It was a true gift to meet you.

    *blueberry cheesecake

  • Icecream sounds SO good right now! my favorite’s Chocolate!!!

  • Great pics and story, we sure learn alot being with our children!

  • Chocolate Mint… and wow Amber you touched my heart. Thanks for these words, I really needed them right now.

  • @mrsbiddlebugs - 

    are YOU running from rules, Trace?? see.. i knew you were a Freedomite at heart. ;)

  • This really hit home with me today! Thank you so much for sharing! My favorite kind of ice cream would have to be cookies’n'cream or chocolate chip cookie dough! YUM!

  • The darkest chocolate there is. . . praying for you and the little bitty one. . . keep us posted OK. . . praying for you and her!! (and the rest of the family too)

  • My favorite is Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough!!!! YUMMO!

    I love your posts! Always making me think. ;) Btw….I answered your questions on my blog today! :)

  • @srheam - 

    oh, no. it was still eaten after all that! all it needed was a good licking off of the mess. ;)

  • Your baby is adorable! Oh and I love this post, btw.

  • That was SO funny…cuz I was thinking “I wonder if she made that cone and let it drip and run just for pictures for this??” Totally sounds like something I would do.

    But I WANT that cone. It looks SO yummy!

    Really enjoyed your analogy. And you’ve got a smart little daughter.

    I hope you are keeping from going too crazy these days!
    Thanks for the long comment you left on my Mothering post. I appreciated your thoughts!

    Big hugs to you today!!

  • Ha, ha, I KNEW you set up the melting ice cream cone photo session yourself! LOVE the spiritual lesson you got from your daughter! And my favorite kind of ice cream is mint and chip; you get the dark chocolate taste amidst cool, refreshing mint! Yum, yum!

  • ok. this post and comments is seriously making me want to rummage in the deep dark recesses of my freezer for any freezer burnt variety of ice cream i can find!!! Must.Stay.Strong.
    My at-the-moment fave? Choco/Peanut Butter. Never been a huge choco fan, but w/ peanut butter? My goodness. Yum.

    Also, ditto what everyone else says, love how you find God in the ordinary. There is so much I can learn from you.

  • rum raisin ice cream.
    your daughter is knock out gorgeous. but i know where she got it- straight from her mama.
    i am slowly learning and ACCEPTING that God takes us, drips and all. it is a tough concept to get my mind around, but ahhhh, it is such a good feeling to find Him and nestle down in that peace He gives me then!

  • anything “espresso flavored” is my fave!…and then…plain ole’ vanilla…yup. breyers 1/2 the fat. you can eat twice as much that way! :)

    your daughter is beautiful…looks just like you. and, thanks for the “thoughts”…good ones.

  • I love vanilla. I keep trying other flavors and wishing I’d have just stuck with vanilla. Soft serve is even better. I LOVE Breyers homestyle vanilla and Edys creamy version. Oh. stop. I didn’t think I was hungry.

    I love your posts … the way you remind me about finding God in the ordinary drips and crevices in our lives. This part: “Tip it just right so that it looks like I know what I’m doing. Listen to those people, read that book, attend that seminar, that give me all the correct 1.2.3. step methods of how it’s supposed to be done… ” describes me way too often.

    Thinking of you stuck in horizontal and wishing you fun moments and ice cream cones.

  • cute pictures! AND….you’d better be really bed resting and not just “bed resting”!!!

  • I am all about ice cream, so this post hit close to home.  I definitely have drips that seem like as soon as I turn around, they’re right back again.  Totally love the post! 

    How to pick a favorite??  So many…I’ll have to go with Moose Tracks.  I can still taste that thing from Walnut Creek Cheese.   Have a happy Monday!

  • Root beer float ice cream, so yummy! Love your post and how you use the daily happenings to illustrate God and His love.

    Take care!

  • That little Emma is absolutely edible!! That’s what I think… :D
    I could eat her up in those pictures. What a precious sweetheart she is.
    Can’t wait to see you all next week ~Lord willing…..

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories