September 14, 2010

  • {winners *** and a birthday}

    Thanks to all who entered the giveaway~
    I really enjoyed reading through your answers.
    Sounds like lots of super sweet memories were made this summer..
    as well as some great marriages going on… and good words of wisdom and advice from so many of you.
    Nice to know too that if I ever happen to steal one of your ipods ;p I wouldn’t have to change much with it -
    I think the majority of the songs you listed are all favorites of mine as well!!

    I admit the only part I don’t like about giveaways is announcing the winners…
    I always wish everyone could win. 
    Shayne knows this about me and I think he was a bit nervous when he saw the number that entered..
    “uh, babe.. you’re not going to try to figure out how you can give all these ladies something are you?” ;)

    Well, I just might yet.
    But. in the meantime…
    the three randomly drawn names by my professional name drawers {a.k.a. 3 kiddos} are::

    *** third place:: schrockgirl

    she said::Love love your giveaways!!! My highlight this summer was finding out #2 baby is on it’s way!! I have been so incredibly BLESSED with my incredibly awesome hubby, who continues to amaze me everyday, even after 5 1/2 years of marriage. We have the sweetest little tiny 22LB, 2 1/2 year old little boy, and we cannot WAIT to meet this new little “movement” who already is making his/her presense known. =)

    *** second place:: Jifners

    she said::When is your baby due? Mine is coming next Thursday! You don’t look nearly big enough to be at the end of pregnancy though! Okay, found this link on one of my friend’s facebook sites, so I thought I’d give a try for those prizes. :)

    ONE THING THAT SURPRISED ME ABOUT MARRIAGE: How much work it is. Everyone tells you how wonderful it is, and it is, indeed wonderful. I have been married eight years. But it does take work. And lots of it. You have to work on communicating, you have to work on common ground (especially after you have kids), you have to work on discipline w/ your kids and how you both want to do it. You have to work on intentional time w/ each other. It’s hard work, but well worth the effort. Too many people just give up when it gets hard and just want to “get out.” It’s sad. How much more precious is something that you had to work hard to get..

    I’ll link to this on my xanga as well. You have a beautiful family! And how sweet that you’re giving such wonderful prizes away. It shows your heart.

    -Jennifer


    *** first place:: CBrown6207

    she said:: Exciting giveaway!  Thanks so much for hosting this!  :o )

    1. Before Dan and I got married, we had so many people tell us that the first year of marriage is so rough and that once you get past that it’s much easier.  For us, we were both very suprised at how wonderful it was right from the start.  We were just so happy to finally be married and have loved every minute of it right from the start.  I was also surprised at how very real it felt for me to be “leaving and cleaving”.  From the moment we were at the altar I had this overwhelming sense of being “free” from my parent’s and joyfully with Dan from then on.  I guess simply said: just glorying in the “one-ness” that comes with being married. 

    2. Favorite memory from this summer would have to be the days leading up to Dan’s deployment.  Though it was really hard to know he would be going soon, we enjoyed every single day of being together and savored the sweetness.

    3. Fave song right now is Gary Allan’s “I Can Love You”.  Dan and I aren’t together right now.  He can’t be here for the ups and downs of life.  There is so much that this physical distance puts severe and strong limits on.  The song always makes me cry because it reminds me of how much Dan loves me and that all these things right now don’t change that one bit!!  And it makes me so thankful to the Lord for keeping us close and holding us together with His love.

     
    congratulations girls! & enjoy. :)

     
    Please message me your addresses so I can get those gifts in the mail to ya!!

    ~***~***~***

    We celebrated Emma’s 5th birthday on Sunday!

    For weeks she’s been talking about only one thing…
    “…i wanna pink sooter wif a basset on it. and wittle bunny wike dis big {showing us with her hands} and i will tall her cware and she tan wide in my basset on my sooter…”

    Well. yes.
    After mommy did some convincing of daddy…
    a bunny named, Claire,
    joined the family early Sunday morning before church.

    And later, at her birthday party she got the “pink sooter” from mamaw and papaw…
    and Claire promptly went for her first ride!



    I’m wondering if any of you are bunny experts?
    Claire hasn’t eaten since we brought her home late Sat. night.
    I called the pet store yesterday and the guy said it was because she was in shock!
    {ya think? being taken from your 12 other brothers and sisters and thrust into a noisy lively household that involves sudden sporadic rides in a basket on a pink scooter shouldn’t be the least bit shocking} :)  
    He said it would take her awhile to adjust to her new surroundings.
    Just wondering if this was true –

    and not some patent answer the napoleon dynamite guy from Jack’s Aquarium is supposed to give me!




    {having fun with the uncles}

    ***




    {making a wish.. probably for more bunnies!}

    ***


    {her best little girlfriend, Gracie}

    ***





    {so loved}

    ***

    I can’t believe my baby is five.
    And soon not to be the baby any longer!
    What do they say about blinking..
    Opening your eyes after just a brief moment,
    and seeming to find the years have passed impossibly by in that instant.


    But what a precious.. absolutely precious instant it’s been so far.
    As if God wrapped a piece of Himself up as a gift to us and delivered it in the form of this little person!





      
    “I often challenge myself to recognize the many facets of my identity and to understand that motherhood does not completely define me. I want to set an example for my girls of fulfilling my one wild and precious life with a great many things and giving them the freedom to explore the wonders of the world in their own way. I tell myself that I will gradually have to let go and that life will not always be filled with the happiness of dress up and tea parties and spontaneously aproning up to make cupcakes with extra sprinkles.

    …but right now, I drink it up, knowing that the magnitude of our inspiration shifts over time. And while I am aware that mothering cherub-cheeked littles will not always be the source of full-flowing inspiration, I know that loving them will.” -Kelle Hampton

    Happy Birthday to our Emma Calen ~***


     

Comments (54)

  • That last picture of the two of you is so pretty!  Congrats to the winners of the gift baskets and thanks again for doing it Amber!  Good luck getting it all mailed out….  :)   And Happy Birthday to your little Emma!

  • I agree with Shanna, that picture of you two is beautiful.  Congratulations to all the winners!!!  Happy Birthday to Emma!!!  Super cute bunny! =)

  • I never win.  I want to go back and read some of the answers.

    Thank you for being so giving!

    Love all the pictures!

  • So sweet!! Happy Birthday to Emma!! Poor Bunny . . . LOL

  • Your family is beautiful! Happy Birthday to your little sweetie.  She looks like such a precious little joy.

  • your little emma is such a little amber!!!!!!! 

    I’ll be back.
    I just had to peak in to see who the winners were!

  • My kids have been wanting a bunny too.  But I am not about to give in.

    But if my daughter asked in that sweet voice with that cute lisp, I don’t know what I would do.

    That’s too funny about the bunny being in shock!  no wonder.

    And I LOVE the pictures of the uncles throwing Emma up in the air.  Awesome!

    And of course I am bummed I didn’t win, but when I saw that first prize when to a woman whose husband is deployed, I had to think to myself that even #1 prize is a small token for what she is giving up and going through for our country, and then I felt better about not winning.

  • Congrats to all the winners!!

    Happy Belated Birthday Emma!!!  Looks like you had a fabulous birthday!!!

    I don’t know about the bunny being in shock.  BUT, I’m sure she is just a little nervous and scared in her new environment. The more interaction she gets with the family will be better. You know you can litter train that bunny……  : P

    Love all the photos, but I absolutely love that last one.  Great profiles!!

  • Oh, so sweet! She is getting so big. What a honey! I love the bunny in the scooter! And I really love the last picture of you and Emma… so sweet!

    I decided not to comment on your last post, given the fact that I won the last giveaway! I thought I should give everyone else a chance and not be greedy! ;)

    I keep looking for the post that tells us that you’ve welcomed new little Hutchy girl! I’m so excited! Thinking of you and praying daily!!

  • Did you know that if you get a little boy bunny this little Claire won’t be lonesome anymore?

  • happy birthday to my charming little emma.  i realized when i was looking at the photo’s you did of her from 1-5 of how long i’ve actually been enjoying watching her grow… and i’ve enjoyed every minute of it.  only wish i could give her a for real birthday hug.  so give her one from me, please?  :)   i loved all the hugging pictures… she is so very loved.

  • congrats to the winners!!  Happy birthday to your daughter.  How cute she is with her scooter and bunny!!   

  • the joy on Emma’s face with her new bunny is absolutely wonderful. To be able to have the joy of the child is something as an adult i often long to be able to grab on to once again. So happy to see your winners. what a joyous occassion. the winners sharing her own journey in marriage and with her husband being deployed brought tears to my eyes…so easy to forget about those who sent their loved ones overseas to fight for our freedoms adn the struggles they face here at home.
    love you, praying for you and your little one that you would be both safe and loved.
    are those your brothers or shane?S. sooooooo good to see Shane ;)

  • looks like a blessed birthday girl! ! ! know nothing about bunnies. we still just miss our Gracie. ~
    Yes, love the last pic – need to frame!
    yeah for winners – didn’t catch that post – but sounds fun!

    five years goes by fast. Bub turned five this year and it just amazed me how quick it went.
    Sept. b-days are good – I use to not think so because that’s when school started up when I was little, but now, well, it’s like
    the saying hello to fall time and it’s cool.

    have a blessed day!~

  • emma is so very blessed to have you for a mommy! and all those cool uncles who love her and all those many many other people who do!   Just cute as can be….   hope her 5th year (and being kicked out of baby position!!) is the best year yet!

  • What a beautiful Birthday Girl!! (if you think she is getting big now…just wait until you bring home that little one!)
    I am sure that she will be a lot of help I was so glad that i breastfed my youngest because that’s about the only
    time that i got to hold him!! (the big brother and sisters wanted him ALL of the time!) It was so much fun!

    We had a bunny once and they are SO much fun! Yes, they are a bit temperamental, but they adjust quickly.
    (note: they do NOT play well with dogs!…this is why we no longer have our bunny)

    LOVE that last pic!

  • Ahhhh, so sweet and cute at five years old! wonderful pics and beautiful family!

  • congrats to the lucky winners! (but, shucks! i was hoping to see my name on the list!;O))
    and, thanks to you for doing such a generous giveaway!
    aww, dear little emma! i’m with Rachel; can’t believe she’s already? 5. even tho’ i’ve never met her, watching her grow up on your blog makes me feel like i know her too…and, o my word! she looks so much like you!
    thinkin’ of you often as you near your ‘day of deliverance’…
    love,
    rb

  • Emma has the sweetest face! Happy Birthday! I was reading Kelly Hampton’s blog the other day and love that quote. She is such a gifted writer.

  • Emma looks like such a fun, happy sweetheart! Glad she had such a fun filled birthday! Blessings as the BIRTHday of another baby comes soon!

  • Beautiful Emma, beautiful bunny, beautiful family, beautiful you, beautiful words, beautiful tears dropping because of all the beauty expressed…MY fave picture is the one of your Mom with Emma. Makes me cry. I can feel, SO feel how precious it is to your Mom to be holding her grandgirl; you never know when that might be your last moment, so every one matters more than ever now. Your mom’s beautiful, smiling face: priceless.  ( :

  • Oh such sweet shots~ just look at the love.  ~happy sigh~

    We have always had rabbits~ never had the issue of not eating~ but of course, our bunnies don’t have the luxury of scooter rides. lol

    Happy Birthday Emma~ and congrats to the give-away winners!

  • Thanks for doing such an awesome give-away. :) Happy birthday to your 5 year old! I haven’t been able to handle 5 very well so far. It’s like the transition into kid-hood or something. I totally feel what you’re saying about the blink. Where does it all go?

  • Happy Birthday to the little one! :) She’s so cute…and I so enjoy the way your phonetically spell out her mispronounciations. ;) So sweet.

    Be careful with the bunny- they are nervous by nature- my daughters accidently killed their bunny in a “Of Mice and Men” sort of way…..over loving it!!! :(   So, make sure bunny gets plenty of time alone and quiet….she will need a little “house” inside her hutch where she can huddle in- they like things like that.

    Any closer to having a BIRTH date for baby Hutch?? :)

    God Bless. Cass

  • That last pic made me wanna cry~ its beautiful!!

  • Sometimes small children can be “too much” for such a little bunny. Make sure you always watch your daughter with him. I had lots of bunnies. And younger cousins. They were scared to death of them. They were too loud for them. They are shy animals that can be scared so easily and they can easily die of heart attacks when they are too scared. I’d try to give her some quiet time and she should be okay then…

  • @appalolly - 

    i know, right? i prayed God would pick the three He wanted and found that extra cool that one went to a military wife. so grateful for those who sacrifice so much in the fight for our freedoms.. on BOTH sides – the ones deployed, and the ones left behind!!

  • @JeezolPeats - 

    “You know you can litter train that bunny……” haha. yes! they gave us a brochure on it.

  • @mytoesareblue - 

    they’re mine. :)

  • @SpazzyMommy - 

    saw the midwife again today. same thing, “just ANY day now.” :/ feeling a bit frustrated w/ that. but remembering every day inside me is good for her – and amazed that God has answered prayer and carried her full term!! now.. to get the prayers answered for her to come out! :) i know HIS timing will be perfect. trusting in that

  • Oh look how happy she is with that bunny! Happy Birthday to your Emma.

    Congrats to the winners!

    Any day now! Can’t wait.

  • I’ve been away for the weekend, and just saw the “birth day” title and got all excited.  Looks like a sweet birthday, just not the one I was thinking of!     Love those pics of them throwing her up in the air!  So fun!  Hope “Cware”settles down and adjusts very soon.  We just had a new litter of kittens yesterday, and overnight the mother moved them off the deck to who-knows-where, so we are having some animal anxiety ourselves!

  • Aww. Happy Birthday pretty girl. Can you tell me where the orange top comes from? So cute.

  • ….and I just had to come back here to confess that I k-n-e-w those Wen products had my name on them.  ;)
    maybe next time!

    thinking of you often…
    got your package and it made me realize how much I love to know that I was thought of.
    Thankyou, Amber!

  • Happy Birthday to Emma!  That looks like a very splendid 5th Birthday to me! =)  Beautiful pic of you two~ 
    oh, and congrats to the winners!

  • Cute, cute, cute! I LOVE all the pictures! Emma has the same birthday as a friend of mine’s son. We had a birthday party on Sunday too. Still looking forward to reading about the arrival of your baby girl! =)

  • absolutely love that last picture of you two. The lighting is awesome and you both look so much alike! Happy birthday Emma!

  • congratulations to the lucky winners!
    such a FUN giveaway Amber!…
    fab prizes and a great game show…errrrr blog hostess and fascinating answers to the questions!!!

    Happy 5th Birthday to Emma ~ who looks like a little girl you :)
    and I want you to have the satisfaction that your title made my heart completely jump
    NOT because I thought that I won a prize ~ nah. this girl’s lucky streak is over ;)
    but you wrote BIRTH day. uh huh. I know what you’re up to young lady.
    it’s good I didn’t get hurt. :)

    HaPpY BIRTH day again…real soon!
    you’ll do great. love and hugs.

  • Such a beautiful birthday girl!  It looks like she got just what she wanted and was very happy about it! 

    We’re so looking forward to seeing your new baby girl!  Lydia is hoping for the 18th- her 13th birthday!

  • For some reason, I got all **sniff sniff** seeing the pictures of Emma & Claire. Every little girl needs to experience loving a bunny. God sends a MIGHTY loud of love in those tiny creatures!

    About the eating….most of my bunnies did this. (Well, except for one…he never stopped eating for a minute. tehe). Bribe her. Bride with ‘tiny’ bites of treats. Bananas are a huge hit over here. TINY. But that tiny bite suuure does make them happy.

  • congrats to all the winners! Those were some beautiful prizes! :) I love reading your posts! And little emma is so adorable! She looks so much like one of my little cousins!

  • Lieve Emma, Van harte gefeliciteerd met je vijfde verjaardag. Jij bent een heel mooi meisje. Wat een lief cadeau voor jou, een konijntje.

    Sweet Emma, Happy congratulations on your fifth birthday. You are a very beautiful girl. Quite a sweet present for you, a bunny.

    Hier ook nog wat balonnen voor je.

    Dikke kus

    Here also some balloons for you.

    Big kiss**

    Godeliva van Ariadone

  • Happy Birthday to sweet Emma! E&E loved looking at her pictures!

  • Happy Birthday to Emma! Such a sweet girl. :o ) Bet she just can’t wait for that baby to come either!

    Praying for you today!

  • Happy Birthday to sweet Emma. Sweet, beautiful, happy pictures. Thank you for sharing her sweetness and quotes with us!

    We just visited Nick and Alicia and they have a sweet cute bunny (looks just like story book bunny, I can’t believe I didn’t take his picture!) They have one of those yellow books, something like raising bunnies for dummies. It will give you LOTS of info. I looked at a few pages while waiting for the computer one day. Bunnies do get overwhelmed and stressed. They are very social but very sensitive to noise – BIG EARS, and smells. Carrying around you need to support their hind legs and not carry by ribs or their back can get hurt. Rides in baskets may be too exciting (see the ears back, looks scared). They like nesting materials, like the bedding you bought, an old tee shirt. You have to keep an eye on them when out of cage as they will chew chew chew.

    Thanks for the fun give away. Just offering all that was a gift.

  • OH yes!! I agree with ABAHM ^ …. Rabbits For Dummies is a fantastic book! House rabbit or not – The House Rabbit Handbook is really helpful. Our library has it. http://www.amazon.com/House-Rabbit-Handbook-Live-Urban/dp/0940920123

    Also, http://rabbit.org/ has a wonderful FAQ and list of helpful rabbit sources.

    Helpful people here: http://www.flickr.com/groups/bunnyloversunite/

    I hope that isn’t too much linkage. This is one of my favorite subjects. ;)

  • @tea_lady - 

    my mom got it at Target~ :) emma is my girly girl who LOVES clothes and changing them a dozen times a day. she got this top at her party and ran up to change right away.. i think she changed three or four times throughout the afternoon. i don’t mind too much – - i just let her do her thang! as long as she puts the other ones away first. ;)

  • @ABAHM - 

    @smarvelous - 

    thanks!! we’ll look into that book – the title alone convinces me we need it. :)

  • Entries like this one are so hard on my husband. One more year until we start having children is the plan. It sounded like a good idea at first.

  • I am so happy for those who won the lovely prizes! I loved their answers! I also loved the quote by Kelle Hampton. I am on the “other side” of child rearing now, and I marvel to see my beautiful daughters growing and learning and living. They amaze me. They delight me. And now, the blessing of being older…. GRANDCHILDREN! Sweet, chubby-cheeked little Lucas, and one more on the way, whom we lovingly refer to as Zippy. One in America, and one to be in N. Ireland. I am not a fan of long distance grandparenting, but God gives grace. Although I can’t hold them, my prayers do.

  • looking at those pictures of emma made me think of a poster you gave me years ago. i still have it… :) and every time i see it, it reminds of this very special lady and her amazing children and her pretty cool husband! love you! *HUG*

  • Oh my goodness…….. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, EMMA! So sorry this is late. I love the pictures of all the family and friends that surround you with LOVE!
    You are a precious gift from The Lord! Kisses and hugs from The Berrys xoxox. Tell Mama I’m thinking of her and praying for her :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories